Mocha Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FSQUEEN
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This cake came out great! As serving sizes go... a double batch should serve 24 people?! NO WAY. My bundt holds the double batch, has 9 bumps, and half a bump (18 servings) is very modest. Most people will want a whole bump. :) I did make some changes. Someone following this recipe perfectly might think it was bland. I wanted strong flavors. Quadrupled the coffee and chocolate, and left out liquors. 45 minute bake at 350°. Beating the separated eggs and incorporating them properly is key to making this cake. Amazed at how little sugar and flour is used, and there's no grease besides what lines the pan. Some might say the cake isn't sweet enough, but those people need to learn that "sweet" doesn't equal flavor. Well, it was the BF's birthday, so I did sweeten it up a little bit more, by adding 6 ounces of semisweet chocolate chips, a very thin caramel glaze and some nuts and sugar on top for decoration. The chocolate chips sank straight to the bottom of the bundt, which resulted in a thickish layer of chocolate on the top of the cake. That was actually a little hard to cut through prettily, but it tasted fantastic. I can't say I particularly tasted my caramel glaze though. I made it too thin. None of those additional things really affected the cake part so much that I couldn't tell it would be perfectly delicious without them, and could be suitable for more frequent indulgence that way. I am going to make another one ASAP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
As others have already commented, I believe those who do not care for this recipe do not understand sponge cakes. This is a wonderful cake with great texture and flavor. The instructions fail to tell when to to add the liqueurs. I added them into the batter at the same time I added the espresso mixture in step 3. I used a decorative tube pan to bake my cake. I did NOT grease the pan! (I never grease pans for sponge cakes.) I baked the cake for 48 minutes. I poked several holes in the cake and poured the following mixture over the cake: 1/2 c. hot water 1-1/2 tsp. instant espresso 1 tsp. coffee liqueur 1 tsp. chocolate liqueur I then put the cake bake into the oven for 5 more minutes. After those 5 minutes, I hung it on a glass bottle until it cooled completely (about 2 hours). I used a plastic knife to loosen the cake from the pan, put it on a cake plate, and inverted it. Beautiful! I decorated it with berries and confectioner's sugar to make it more beautiful. The taste was terrific. Next time I make this, though, I am going to reduce the sugar by a tablespoon or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I tried this recipe but I made slight changes instead of coffee I used chocolate powder and the taste was better. Anyways children always enjoy chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by byGilles

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I tried the recipe and I liked it. I think my cake would turn out better if I whipped the egg whites well. And also if I used sugar as instructed instead of honey.I don`t use sugar that`s why my cakes never turn out as they should. Everyone must try this recipe, it`s great. Thank you Kimberly D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
did no one notice that the recipe does not say when to add the chocolate liqueur? after reading the recipe and following directions, i realized that my $20 bottle of godiva chocolate liqueur was sitting in the counter unopened. my bad, but i find this happens fairly frequently on this website - hopefully, after adding it to the batter, the cake will still rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This recipe is missing something...I made it as a bunt cake and once removed from the oven, I noticed it was pretty dry so I took a toothpick and made tiny holes all over the cake, then seperetely, I took 2 cups of boiling water, added 2 tablespoons of instant coffee, 2 tablespoons of hot chocolate and 2 tablespoons of coffee liquor (I chose Tia Maria) added 3 tablespoons of sugar and mixed it all together, then poured it all over the cake while it was still in the pan and continued to cook for 2 more minutes.....Amazing. Please try this and let me know what you think...Mia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Really light and yummy. I made a whipped cream filling and a dark chocolate ganache glaze on top. The cake itself is a little sweet for me, so I'll cut back on sugar next time! O, this cake does NOT need to bake more than 15 minutes. Otherwise, it was a nice spongey cake (not as good as other Asian bakery mocha cakes, but pretty darn good for homemade).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jangmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I saw all the bad reviews and I tried it out of curiosity. It's an excellent recipe if you make a few changes. It was delicious, light, airy and soft. I increased the cocoa powder to a heaping tablespoon, Instead of chocolate flavored liqueur I used one tablespoon of good quality vanilla. Instead of espresso I used 1 tbsp of Nescafe crystals and 1 tablespoon of Kahlua. There was enough to fill both pans. I think the main reason people don't like it is because they don't know how to separate eggs or to beat whites to stiff peaks. I used superfine sugar and eggs at room temperature. Overall it's very satisfactory and only needs to be baked for 15 minutes at most! I used a chocolate ganache on top and a vanilla whipped cream to sandwich the two cakes together. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samanthajay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
apparently, not everyone appreciate what the cake is all about. Asian mocha cakes are very light and airy. They are not as sweet as typical American cakes or European cakes. If you make a butter mocha frosting it will compliment this cake very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
The recipe "caught my eye" due to poor reviews. Read recipe/reviews. Was sure it wasn't recipe at fault but the reviewers as most probaby don't know what a SPONGE/FOAM cake is, nor do they understand the concept of mixing procedure, texture & very light flavor of THESE cakes. It IS NOT a American heavy textured/flavored cake. I'm a profess. pastry chef/instructor. I make these cakes everyday/know the texture & very light flavor of these cakes are what makes them special. Sponge-type (also known as foam) cakes, depend on beaten eggs for their light, airy texture, the mixing & folding procedule is VERY important as the batter can deflate before it even goes into the oven. Because it has no butter/oil it is lighter in texture, the flavors are very slight. They DO NOT require a frosting, only a little Whip Cr. & fruit. Think of it as Angel Food Cake. I wk in an Asian bakery, this is like our cakes only sweeter. Made this w/extra TBL of expresso & cocoa. Baked in 8" Springform pan-3" hi. Rose 2 3/4", deflated (which is what they do) to 2 1/2". Removed deflated sugary crusted top, split cake. Lined pan ring with acetate strip, put 1/2 cake in bottom of ring. Cut strawberries in 1/2, place along edge of cake, filled center w/whip.cr & sliced strawb. Added 2nd 1/2 of cake, piped whip cr. on top,added fresh strawberries. Removed pan ring to display cake. It was beautiful & declicious. THANKS for sharing recipe. Important & recom. all read about Sponge/Foam cakes to understand them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States