Mocha Nut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I had some trouble with this recipe. It never seemed to thicken and the chocolate chips didn't seem to melt all the way. I ended up with an ooey-gooey mess. Because it didn't thicken, I ended up pouring it into a pan and putting it in the freezer, hoping I could salvage it and that it would firm up that way. Even after freezing, it is still rather gooey. It tasted alright, but because of the problems I had with the consistency I probably won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I have made fudge for years and thought I knew a lot about making it - but I learned something new this week. I used brown sugar in Penuche, and in Bordeaux fudge but never in Chocolate Fudge of any kind. Today I am a believer. Of course I tweaked it as all good cooks do, but then I decided to do the recipe as was written ~ excluding the nuts and adding marshmallows and white chocolate chips ~ to give it that Mocha Latte look and taste. Holy Mackerel Brandy! ~ This is one great tasting fudge! I've already made it 4 times with my own take on it and they were yummy ... but I made it your way and voila ~ PERFECTION! (I didn't roll it, but I could have. I actually ate it before I could do that.) :) I now have a favorite chocolate fudge made without marshmallow cream ... and it is the best. I'm going to try it with different chips and even try to double the recipe. Again, thank you for posting this wonderful fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is delicious fudge. I doubled the instant coffee (glad I did - there was a perfect amount of coffee flavour) and replaced the corn syrup with agave. I did shape it into the logs, but next time I'll probably just throw it into a buttered pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I whipped this up and was very surprised, I stirred and stirred and it never became smooth, thick yes. Smooth no. When I put it on wax paper to roll into logs it was very crumbly. so it is in the fridge , we will see after dinner if it is a fudge or a mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was my first time making fudge and it turned out great! I did double the coffee as other reviewers suggested and I used almonds instead of walnuts. I didn't roll this into logs, but instead spread it into a loaf pan. Turned out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Nice subtle variation on regular chocolate fudge. Easy to make, no candy thermometer and no marshmallow fluff to stick to every surface in your kitchen. I used more coffee than called for. Two packets of Nescafe Tasters Choice, one vanilla and one hazelnut. Smelled divine while cooking, and formed logs decently. I didn't add nuts, since I didn't have any hazelnuts on hand to match the coffee. Set up well and is really yummy. Will pair well in my candy tins with the candy cane fudge from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Watts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Very good. I did double the coffee in the recipe. And cut the nuts. I was unsure how exactly to shape it into logs since it was really hot. So I placed a piece of wax paper down on top of a kitchen towel and then formed it into one 18 inch log. Didn't want to mess with two of them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used cream in place of the milk, increased the amount of instant coffee to 2 tsp., and left out the nuts. I also checked to see what temperature this was after 2 minutes, and decided that 220 was not going to be solid fudge. I cooked this to the softball stage. Instead of shaping this into a roll, I spread the fudge in a buttered pan. Great fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very good AND easy! I doubled the amount of instant cofee and crushed it up so it would better distribute throughout the fudge. I only added about 3/4 cup of walnuts because though I am a huge fan of nuts, it just seemed like way to many for this recipe. Let me just say that the aroma of this fudge cooking made my whole house smell like a chocolate/coffee factory! I stirred it until it formed a shiny ball in the pot and added the nuts, stirring to combine. My first thought was to put it into a pan instead of rolling into a log, but I felt that it was too stiff to spread it out nicely enough. I rolled it into 1 long log instead of 2 and it formed perfectly once I wrapped it up in the plastic wrap. It also cut very nicely once chilled. I am already planning on making another batch this week! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is an excellent fudge! I was concerned that the coffee flavor wouldn't come through enough with only 1 tsp. of coffee granules, so I doubled the amount and it was perfect. The extra coffee cut some of the sweetness, as did the large amount of walnuts. Now, I love nuts in fudge, but felt that this recipe had just a few too many...next time I make it, I will use 2/3 or 3/4 cup of walnuts instead of 1 cup. I was concerned that it would be hard to roll the warm fudge mixture into the logs, because it seemed somewhat soft and sticky. It wasn't nearly as hard as I thought...after I got it into a rough log shape, I put it on the center of a large piece of plastic wrap, and folded it over the log so that the entire thing was covered, then rolled it up completely, and formed a perfect roll in the process. I think that this recipe could very easily be made in a square pan as well, but the round slices did look nicer. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States