Mocha Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong, but these made 9 tiny little cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Mine came out great. But there's a trick to stiffening egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I had a similar problem as many other reviewers: I didn't have Cream of tartar so I subbed it with equal parts vinegar. The egg whipped up beautifully within 10 min, using a hand held mixer. But when I added all the flavor ingredients it flattened out quickly. It baked fine, and tastes just fine (not great), but is not the shape it should be. I may need to play with this recipe a bit more, but its not 'go to' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliMasaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I always do the first batch as written. Didn't work, the taste was there, and was good, but there must be something wrong with the amount of sugar. They came out flat, like ice cream sandwich cookies. We still ate them, but they weren't meringues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
The flavor is amazing, but there is far too much cocoa for the whipping to actually yield soft peaks. The egg whites never pouffed up for me and I was left with flat cookies. I also doubled the sugar, which I think added to the flavor and brought the sugar content up to the level of other meringues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I needed a bunch of these so I doubled the recipe. I used 1 1/2 cups sugar because what was put in the recipe was not enough. Other that I changed nothing else. Really good cookie!!!!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
it tastes absolutely amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
The taste was good, but I did not care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was a fabulous treat! I used Instant Jamaican Coffee as opposed to regular, and I piped (for added height) the cookies onto my pan before I tossed them in the oven and they had a fabulous texture when they finished. Crispy on the outside & tender and chewy on the inside. They melted in your mouth, and the guests I served them to had nothing but rave reviews for them. This is definitely going to be added to my holiday fav list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANTHERPAW18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States