Mocha Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2001
Yummy yummy yummy!!! The perfect guilt free treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
VERY YUMMY I ADDED SOME INSTANT CAPPACINO TO THE CHOCOLATE FOR AN EXTRA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Way too chocolately for our taste! I even added some almond extract for added flavor but it just didn't taste that good at all. I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
These came out of the oven flat and deflated looking. The flavor was excellent, but the texture left something to be desired. They didn't dissolve in the mouth the way meringues usually do, and were fairly hard. I'll make these again to see whether my hunch about beating them more is true, but will also try other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
These had absolutely no shape. They tasted yummy nonetheless. =] I wouldn't make it again, though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is my first meringue cookie so I am not sure how it is supposed to taste. I doubled the recipe, used 1 T. of the cocoa and instead used 1 T. instant cappacino mix toffee flavor. Also, I didn't use any sugar, but four packets of artificial sweetener instead. The cookies were flat, airy, light, and did melt in your mouth. I would probably up the sugar next time while keeping everything else I changed the same. I would make them again. I have been dieting and these are great for a nice chocolate treat. I ate them with a little light whipped cream and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These are very good, but too chocolaty. (never thought I'd say that!) I'm going to cut the cocoa by 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Tasted good, even though they came out flat. I've made meringues many times with other recipes, and haven't had them flop before. Oh, well, they made good mocha thin crisps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
what's wrong with these? they sounded so promising i think the amount of sugar is off, now that i look at other meringue recipes. sugar helps stiffen the egg whites and give them that shiny look. maybe they would have held their shape better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyScoop

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Um this didn't turn out at ALL like a meringue...but it still tasted fine. I'm not sure what went wrong, I followed the directions exactly, and I mixed the ingredients for an hour (45 minutes by hand, 15 with an automatic mixer) but stiff peaks NEVER formed. So as a result the meringues were flat and airy, like strange cookies. Maybe because I'm at a high altitude (7500 feet) but I wasn't sure how to adjust. Still, they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet-o-wheat-o's

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States