Mocha Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by delish
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Yummy cake! Not overly sweet, which appeals to men. But I can't believe none of the people who rated this before mentioned the BIG, OBVIOUS problem with a cake that has whipped cream for the filling! It squirts right out when you cut it. Even after refrigerating it for over an hour before serving. Whipped cream is too light, airy and soft to hold its own. It tasted good with the coffee in it, but it needs a thickener... cream cheese, maybe? That would be my suggestion for those looking to make this cake. Mine looked exactly like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Absolutely Delicious!!! I made this just as directed and served for dessert at a family get together - there was barely any left and what was left, was gone the next afternoon! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
What a great semi-homemade recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
pretty good and very moist. great topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I have made this cake twice now and everyone loves it! The only change I make is to leave out the corn syrup and the topping comes out fine. Even those who say they are not big fans of cake say they like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
A quick, easy recipe. And not to mention moist and delicious! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Amazing! i sprinkled more suisse mocha on top of the chocolate. I put the cake in the freezer for a little while and the chocolate got crunchy on top and the flavors combined. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe was outstanding! I made this for my husband for his birthday; his favorite is chocolate cake and I wanted to make something different. This was perfect. The only thing I did differently was add some of the mocha cafe powder straight into the Cool Whip for a little extra mocha flavor. My cakes rose while baking and deflated once I took them out ofthe oven. I was worried this would hamper the flavor or that something had gone wrong but they turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
OMG! This cake was yummy!!! I only did one small tub of cool whip and thought it was plenty. I also skipped making the chocolate glaze and i just drizzled chocolate sauce on top and it was a pretty presentation. It disappeared very quickly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This cake is delicious! So moist and rich with a definite mocha flavor. I made it for a birthday party and it went so fast I almost didn't get a piece for myself! The only problem is slicing the cake. The chocolate topping gets firm, especially if you keep the cake in the fridge, and the layers tend to separate as you pass the knife through. It's worth the effort though, this cake was a hit! I used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream- turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States