Mocha Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This recipe was ok, the flavor was good, but it was not what I would call "icing". It was kind of thin, closer to a glaze than icing, I had to add more powdered sugar to get a better spreading consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Delicious! Reminded me a bit of Terimasu! I did, however, make a few alterations! 1) I used esspresso instead of coffee (added amazing flavor... however, almost too much flavor) 2) I mixed the initial ingrediants in the blender for a bit, before adding the confectioners suger a bit at a time 3) I served with a dark chocolate cake, wich, although delicious, proved to be to much. THIS WAS DELICIOUS! I definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
good flavor but as written doesnt work, i had to add almost double the amount of sugar to get a spreading consistency tried a second batch with about 1/2 the amount of coffee, and didnt melt the butter, and it worked much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca1810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
YUMMY. This icing has a great coffee flavour and was perfect to use on brownies. I did find the icing to be a little thin initially, but it simply requires mixing until you reach the consistency you like. Either that, or let it sit on the counter for a bit, it will thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
This icing is DELICIOUS and especially good on brownies. Make sure the coffee is strong and hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Great recipe! Nice consistency as well as flavor. I was able to ice a round layer cake with this, would definitely recommend this one, do not pass it by! :) Thanks for posting this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is an excellent and easy recipe. I used it as a glaze on my husband's birthday cake. It was a hit and a definite keeper. My only recommendation is to let it cool slightly so that it can thicken before pouring over a cake. I found that it soaked into the cake at first but if I had let it cool it would have been the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This icing is ORGASMIC! I used those little coffee shots in place of the brewed coffee and just warmed it to boiling in the microwave. I didn't change anything else. This complimented the Jumpin' Java Cookies perfectly. Really, really yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is absolutely the best chocolate icing I've ever made. The added butter makes the icing so rich and buttery. It tastes a lot like fudge. The only thing I'd like is a stronger coffee flavor. Using an espresso might be the answer. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
wonderful! i put everything in the blender, wizzed it up and wacked it on chocolate cake 2 from this site.the cake would not have been half as nice without this icing. cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttonmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chichester, Sussex, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States