Mocha Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I took the advice of some others & made the coffee stronger but that made it too coffee tasting to me but my mother who likes coffee loved it so I think it's all based on your preference. The texture was perfect for piping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missladyd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Very good recipe-- easy to make, tastes great. I added a bit more powdered sugar to thicken the icing, and had to beat it with a mixer for a while to get a thicker consistency-- thank goodness for my KitchenAid mixer!! I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
great on choc cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
You know I like something when I put it in my recipe box! I made this tonigh and put this on my cake, put it in the fridge and when I tasted it, it was like I was in heaven!! I had been looking for an icing recipe that had good consistency and this was everything and more! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was runny until I added another cup of sugar. Very tasty I will keep this recipe. I give the recipe 3 stars in its original form, but since it is easy enough to fix I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This icing is delicious! I wanted a glaze for a chocolate bundt cake, and the consistency of this was perfect. If you want more traditional spreadable frosting, you may need to add more powdered sugar. It may sound weird, but I had some coffee left over after brewing, so I poured myself a cup and stirred in a spoonful of the extra icing. *cringe* Soooo bad for me but sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This icing is ORGASMIC! I used those little coffee shots in place of the brewed coffee and just warmed it to boiling in the microwave. I didn't change anything else. This complimented the Jumpin' Java Cookies perfectly. Really, really yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is an excellent and easy recipe. I used it as a glaze on my husband's birthday cake. It was a hit and a definite keeper. My only recommendation is to let it cool slightly so that it can thicken before pouring over a cake. I found that it soaked into the cake at first but if I had let it cool it would have been the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
used 2 1/2 cups sugar instead of 3. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Delicious! Sweet and coffee-licious! This was very easy and quick to make and it was perfect with Mom's Chocolate Cake recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hammerthumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States