Mocha Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I like this recipe - the flavour is quite coffee like, and chocolatey - but i suggest a really really strong coffee. I once did it with a mild coffee and there was barely any taste. Instead of melting the butter, I've done it with a room temperature butter whipped first. Then added the coffee (lukewarm) and the chocolate and the consistency is almost perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I make it all the time and love it!!!! I use mocha swirl coffee for my keurig
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent icing with great flavour:-) I used 1/4 cup of softened butter and added a bit of milk. This recipe made enough to spread easily on a 9 by 13 inch cake. It spread beautifully and my little grandson loved licking the bowl! Thanks for a great recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious and perfect consistency if u blend it enough. I'm not a chocolate or coffee lover but I made this for my brother's cake and I loved it and so did my chocolate and coffee LOVING brother. Must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is a great glaze. I cut the recipe in half and put a thin coat on my sheet cake. I used a little bit of left over coffee in the pot, not hot. Turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I saw that a few people said they did not like this icing because it was not of spreading consistency, and was more like a glaze. I followed the measurements exactly and chilled it in the fridge for 1 hour. It was the perfect spreading consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was a great recipe, tasted amazing and fantastic consistency, i used mine on cupcakes, I dont have a electric mixer i do all by hand by mixing butter and cocoa and then alternating between icing sugar and coffee, though i let my coffee cool it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I used french vanilla flavoured coffee and it was so good. Not overpowering with coffee flavour, which is what I hoped for. Great consistancy to pipe out for cupcakes (but I added extra icing sugar until it thickened up)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Wow! My husband LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I just made this icing for the first time & it turned out perfect! Used softened butter, only 2 cups of sugar and mixed in in stainless steel bowl as someone else suggested. Perfect consistency for piping onto cupcakes. No need to chill. Will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States