Mocha Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I followed Chocoholic's advice and skipped the first cooling-off, and it turned out great. Candy thermometer is a must when making fudge, so if you thought about just winging it, don't. Just go buy a thermometer. In truth, I may tweak this recipe next time because the coffee was a bit too subtle for my taste, but I stand by my 4-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I used espresso powder because it's what I had on hand and also because I love the espresso flavor. It turned out very well. I also took other reviewers’ advice and stirred the chocolate chips in after it was cooled slightly. This is a nice change of pace from the usual fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made this fudge but changed a few things and it came out perfect. Great soft creamy texture and fantastic flavor. I didn't have pecans but am sure the fudge would have been great with them as well. I like a stronger coffee taste so I added and extra 1/2 Tbsp. of coffee granules. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I cooked to 236F, removed from heat and added the chips right away. It took a lot of beating as it cooled but the result was a soft creamy fudge bursting with flavor. Will definitely make this next week to take to a bake sale at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Very tasty, but a bit on the grainy side. Not sure why? I didn't have corn syrup and I don't like pecans so I didn't add those. Also, after adding the chocolate chips it didn't seem "stiff" enough so I added more (approx. another 1/2 cup?). Overall, this recipe is a keeper and I'll make it again, although it's not my favorite fudge recipe on here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I might have done something wrong, because my recipe came out mushy and much more stickier than I though. It was also a bit sandy, like some other reviewers mentioned. I don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohagal287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Having finally learned the knack of fudge this fudge turned out great. I tasted the fudge as it cooled (before adding the chocolate) and it was a beautiful coffee buttery flavor. Having learned the tricks of cooking long enough, but not too long, letting the fudge cool enough before stirring, etc. This fudge came out yummy!!! The only change I made is I used a tablespoon of expresso powder in lieu of the instant coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliciad54

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Awesome!! Make sure you read the entire directions first! My first batch I threw in the chocolate right after I took it off the burner and the chocolate ended up drying out. The second batch came out amazing! Then I got a little experimental and tried to make wht choc peppermint mocha fudge. I didn't add enough peppermint so it tasted more like the candy "coffee Nips" which is still yummy. I did only add in 2/3 cup white choc chips for it though, and it came out perfectly! Thinking next time this is how I can make my pumpkin fudge, which I've been wanting since my vaca to the Oregon Coast. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Mine turned out great. If yours turned to sand it was because your sugar crystalized. This is how to avoid it. When you start boiling the mixture, take a pastry brush and a cup of water and brush the sides of the pan with the wet brush to wash down any sugar crystals. It only takes a couple of stray crystals to make the whole pot crystalize so do a good job, but don't put too much extra water into your fudge. Also, you don't want to stir the fuge or jostle the pot until it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Delicate recipe. I would not recommend letting it cool but rather just mixing in the chocolate just after taking off the heat. By letting it cool, you'll get a fudge that is going to instantly turn before you can get it into the pan. Marbling is not an effect because the caramel is so dark already. If it does fail and turns to sand, then just put the chunks into a microwave safe bowl and nuke for 2 minutes until it's bubbling again. Then pour hot mix into pan right away and you have an instant recovery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States