Mocha Decadence Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
THIS IS A BROWNIE. It's a perfectly fine dessert, but I get the exact same texture and flavor from the one-bowl brownie recipe on the back of Baker's unsweetened chocolate, which is far easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I just recently made this cake- it was very good. I used almonds instead of walnuts, and instant espresso instead of coffee liqueur. Add a few teaspoons of almond extract, and it was great! I highly recommend using high quality chocolate as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
The baking time didn't work for me, but I'm attributing that to my oven. My cake was not quite done after 45 minutes. This being said, the flavour of this cake was fantastic! It was so chocolatey and rich. I used extra strong coffee instead of the liquor. As another reviewer noted, this cake is more like brownies than traditional chocolate cake in my opinion. I will certainly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is a great dessert to make for company. The texture was great, almost like a brownie, and I loved the addition of the ground walnuts. I would definitely make it again, and perhaps try it with some plain brewed coffee instead of the liquor. I did find the measurements for the glaze too high. I would use about half the chocolate, and skip the liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
What a wonderful chocolate cake recipe! I made this a couple of days ago cause I wanted to try something different for dessert. I accidentally used unsweetened baking chocolate instead of semisweet, but added a little sugar while it was melting...turned out fine. Also I didin't have any coffee liquor so used freshly brewed coffee instead..not a strong coffee flavor, but the cake was still a big hit with my husband who loves all things chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gerriann08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this recipe a few days ago and i had to convert some of the measurements to grams so I guesstimated for the chocolate and the cake came out beautifully. Everyone who tasted it asked for another piece it's addictive. Even my grandfather who is a picky eater liked it and my grandmother said it was "delightful". It's very hard to mess this cake up! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
just awesome!! I have made this cake twice.. i never get more than one piece- and it never lasts more than two hours in my house. both times i haven't had any coffee liqueur in my cupboards, so the first time i subbed instant coffee and some rum, and the most recent time i made my own coffee liqueur of vodka, espresso, vanilla and sugar. both times it was just exceptional. a truly decadent cake, but keep it in a safe place while it cools or you might not get a chance to taste any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Made this for a dinner party... everyone loved it. Just the right amount of chocolate flavor without being way over the top. My only complaint was that it didn't taste cofee-y at all.... just chocolately. Might need to add instant coffee. Did use the tip with putting the flour in with the walnuts... worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati Havel Strid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
My husband and I really liked this recipe. The flavor and texture of the cake was very good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Very rich and decadent. Comes together quickly. I too recommend lightly geasing and gflouring the bottom and sides. Raspberries on top were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States