Mocha Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is a great start to the day. I used 2% milk, but the coffee had a bitter edge, so next time I will use half and half instead and see if that smooths it out. I usually use mexican chocolate to make this, I have never done it from scratch before. Just add a little cinnamon to it and it is almost the same. Thanks Johanna, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I even used "brand name" coffee and it was just okay. The taste was fine, but it seemed a bit grainy to me. I wonder if this would be better if the unsweetened cocoa was replaced with chocolate syrup? Update: So, I tried this instead: 2 T of "international coffee-mocha" powder mix, a 6 oz cup of coffee and some milk. So good and not grainy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I'm sipping on this delicious treat right now as I am searching for tonight's dinner options. I feel like I just saved $4. This is going to be a good day! Didn't change or add a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
added another 1/2 tablespoon sugar, and it could use a bit of vanilla. pretty good in a pinch, good use of staple ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Pretty basic mocha recipe. I suggest you do what I did and mix the dry ingredients together and wisk them into the hot coffee in a saucepan, then add a little vanilla flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
If you decide to follow previous reviewers' advice and make a paste of the cocoa, sugar, and milk before adding coffee and find you have problems getting them to combine, take my advice: microwave the mixture for 15 seconds and it will come together much easier. I use a whisk to ensure there are no lumps, and it's so easy to blend in the coffee and extra milk. I learned this many years ago when I was making microwave hot cocoa and it's very effective. Thanks for sharing, Johanna! I might try using chocolate syrup next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Very good! I used more like 2 cups of coffee, and 1/4 cup milk, warmed in the microwave. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is good. This would be a great after dinner serve with dessert coffee. Ingredients are measured just right. Not too sweet, not bitter, excellent. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Wow..almost like starbucks, except I don't have to pay $3.50 for this. I used 1/2 Tblsp of cocoa powder, 1 Tblsp of sugar and 2 Tblsp. of milk. To prevent the lumps I crushed the cocoa powder with the sugar using a spoon to make the mixture a little more finer, and it turned out fine. And don't forget to top it with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aescanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
As per others' advice, I made the cocoa-sugar-milk paste before adding the coffee. I found that it was still a little lumpy at the end, but that was to be expected. A spoon is definitely recommended. I thought I'd figured out the ideal ratios for a delicious mocha on my own but this was even better one! This is a great, simple recipe which I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States