Mocha Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
No doubt about it, these muffins were good, but not anything out of the ordinary. I didn't have enough butter (and don't ever have margarine in the house) so I used 2 sticks of salted butter, and a 1/2 cup natural applesauce. We are coffee buffs in this house and instant coffee is never on hand. So I used 3 tablespoons of our freshly brewed coffee. Again, they were good. Just nothing out of the ordinary. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Best banana chocolate chip muffins I ever made or ate! Adjustments: I put half the amount of sugar so 1/4 cup of brown and 1/4 cup of white. I put 1 tsp extra of vanilla (never hurts), more coffee as suggested by many other (3tbsp), only 1/4 cup of margarine and 3/4 cup of applesauce. I would add more chocolate chip next time, maybe by a 1/2 cup. LOVED THEM! They were moist and looked fantastic with a couple of chocolate chip and crushed walnuts on top of each muffin. Do not look elsewhere for a banana chocolate chip recipe! THIS ONE IS IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Made this exactly as described minus 1/4 cup of the sugar. I was a little leary about combining all the ingredients in the food processor, but it woroked out perfectly fine...except when I was trying to scrape and scoop out the dough. The flavor is great, but like other reviewers I could have used a little more coffee flavor. And to my surprise I got exactly 18 muffins...I almost never get the exact serving the recipe states. I did use an ice-cream style scoop to drop my batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These are awesome!!! Only changes I did make was using unsweetened applesauce in place of the margarine- used mini choc. chips(what I had on hand) and used the mini muffin tin (we just prefer the mini's over the large muffins). A keeper! Such a great way to use those old brown bananas instead of making boring old banana bread!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Oh, my goodness, these are THE BOMB. Followed one suggestion and used 3/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown sugar, used semi-sweet mini-chips and two large bananas because that's all I had on hand, and they still turned out fantastic - and very much DH approved. He asked me to make them again soon so that he can take them to work for his co-workers, and I don't remember him ever asking me that. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This turned out very good. I was really looking for more of a coffee flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I added a 1/4 C of chopped walnuts to this recipe and it was great! I will be making these again and again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Good muffins. Pretty sweet. Like other reviewers, I added less sugar-about a cup, upped the coffee a bit, and made them with half butter, half oil. I wanted the flavor from the butter and the moisture from the oil (they were not dry at all this way). The butter kind of makes them taste like chocolate chip cookies in a muffin. They rose beautifully and are very attractive. I was out of brown sugar so I used all white, but I think brown in combo with the butter and mini chips would make them even more like chocolate chip cookies. The only thing I'm not sure about is the combination of the three flavors. I love coffee and chocolate, and I love banana and chocolate. I'm just not sure that the three together are not a little too distracting for my taste. I wonder if subbing cocoa for the coffee would solve this problem for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I think these are delicious! The only way that I altered them was that I substituted 1/4 cup Ghirardeli's hot coco mocha dry mix instead of the instant coffee. Next time I will add 1/2 cup though, because the coffee flavor did not come through. I, also, used mini chocolate chips and added 1/2 cup to the batter and sprinkled 1/2 cup on top. Other than the lack of coffee flavor (my own fault), these muffins are very yummy and moist! P.S. 3 bananas equaled 2 cups for me, and this recipe made 24 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Great flavor with subtle mocha flavor! This is a nice recipe instead of using my overripe bananas for banana bread all the time. I did follow suggestions of decreasing margarine to 1/4c, used 1/2c each of white sugar and brown sugar instead of all white, added 3/4c applesauce, 4T finely ground coffee, used 3/4c all purpose flour and 1 1/4c whole wheat flour instead of all white flour, plus I added 2T flax seed. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States