Mocha Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Gayla
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
These muffins turned out really flavorful and moist for me. I used 6 Starbucks Via Blonde in 3T water (probably about 1 too many), which is why they turned out so dark in color. Also, I substituted all of the sugar with Splenda, used half the chocolate chips, and added chopped walnuts. The Splenda package says cooking times may be shortened. Baked them in paper-lined foil cups for about 15 minutes max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Overall these were pretty good. The coffee flavor was not nearly as strong as I expected. I also imagine cutting back on sugar would work, so I may try that next time. 25 minutes was too long for my oven, they probably only needed 20-22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Delicious! I made this, substituted non sweetened applesauce for the butter, one cup of sugar instead of one and a quarter cup. Didn't have granulated coffee, put two tablespoons of brewed, couldn't taste the coffee, but my family loved them. Very moist. Easy to put together, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Perfect amount of banana (i used 3 large bananas), perfect amount of chocolate chips and very nice and moist! I would reduce the sugar by just a bit (maybe by a 1/4 cup) and add more coffee (I did 3 table spoons of regular coffee - will up that to 5). Even though I think it needs a couple modifications I will keep this rating at 5 star because they are still really good as is and I just want to tweek it to suit my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe was perfect to whip up when I had free time and made exactly 18 muffins for me! I followed the recipe but added about 2.5 T coffee with water, that's about all I had. I can't taste it much though, unfortunately. I only used 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 white and 1/2 brown. I also used about 1/2 tsp more vanilla as well. Overall, they turned out great but next time I think I'll use applesauce in place of some of the margarine for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was DELICIOUS! I was trying to make a chocolate chip muffin with flavors that my children would enjoy, so I was worried about adding the coffee but it was not dominant. I probably added a bit more vanilla, and I was leery about all the butter, so I cut it in half and didn't replace it with anything because the batter looked moist enough. I used half brown sugar, half white sugar. The taste? Nearly identical to a Nestle tollhouse cookie! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINABEAR1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Fantastic recipe.......I followed JMICHELLE's advice. Turned out superb! I was concerned the mixture was a little moist, I might add some quick oats next time but that is all. My kids LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTURKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
it was fantastic! I didn't have any instant coffee, so I replaced it with Hillbros mochaccino mix :) best muffin ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I have to start by saying that I hate coffee and all things coffee flavoured, so I have not personally eaten any of these muffins. That said, there were 19 of them when I made them this afternoon, and I am down to 10. I think that speaks for itself, and I plan on making another batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devoe364

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Loved it! I wanted to use the other viewers adjustments but only had a half cup of applesauce (1 individual cup of Motts) So I used that with 1/2 cup of canola oil. They were perfect! I also didn't have instant coffee but I used 4T of the old coffee I had brewed from that morning. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yokota, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States