Mocha Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
VERY yummy right out of the oven! IF any survive until tomorrow, I'll have to update how they are a day old. I did have to pour the batter into a bowl before adding the flour, salt, soda, and powder because my food processor was too small, but the consistency of the muffins was still absolutely lovely! I made two changes for family preference - I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour in place of 1 cup of all purpose white flour and I added chopped pecans. I LOVED using the food processor to mix the first 7 ingredients because I could use cold butter and it still made excellent batter. I think this is my favorite muffin recipe because it is so easy! Well done, Shelley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Not much "mocha" flavor. I doubled the amount of instant coffee - used 2 Tbsp of instant coffee and equal amount of water. The muffin itself was delicious. VERY moist. I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made these a little "lighter" for my family. I used whole wheat white flour, used butter instead of margerine (I don't keep margerine on hand often)and added an extra half-cup of mashed banana in place of some of the butter and I cut the sugar down to a scant 1/3 cup. These turned out very well, quite moist actually though they aren't one of our favorites. It's not because of the adjustments made--it's just the combination of the banana, chocolate and coffee. My kids and I just didn't care for it. My husband enjoyed these though, eating four in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I also added 3 tablespoons of coffee to 3 tablespoons of water. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Mauldin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this with some of the changes-white/wheat flour, 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce 1/2 cup butter. I must say, I was skeptical, as I totally love banana bread. I made 12 muffins and one mini loaf. Very moist, good flavor and low points for weight watchers(5).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My husband said these are to die for - possibly the best muffins he has had. I followed the advice of some others and increased the instant coffee to 2 tbsp. and 2 tbsp. water. Also used 1/2 c. margarine and 1/2 c. applesauce rather than 1 c. margarine. Used approx. 3/4 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Tripled the coffee since other said they could hardly taste it, it was still very mild, but they were very very yummy, we enjoyed them w/sunday bfast. thank you for the delicious recipe! very moist as well...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RondaRDH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yummy! These are really good. I used 3 really big bananas. I used mini chocolate chips, and instead of water I used coffee to dissolve the instant coffee in. Mine only took 16 minutes to cook through so keep an eye on them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were so good and so easy. I used 1/2 cup butter, the other half was applesauce and oil. I used half dark brown and half light brown sugar. I also used mini chips that I floured first. These were incredible! THanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I changed a few things - 1 cup brewed coffee instead of instant - substituted whole wheat flour - 8 tbsp. butter instead of 1 cup margarine - 2 bananas instead of 3 - added 1/2 c walnuts. Only two bananas was plenty, because the taste of banana is pretty strong. The coffee still isn't that strong, but I didn't want to add too much because I wasn't sure where to cut out all the liquid. End result was light, fluffy, and a little healthier. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States