Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
This is THE BEST CAKE ! I made it for a baby shower(shaped & decorated like a bib) and added a chocolate mousse filing between the layers...chocolate heaven! I got so many compliments, everyone said it was the best choc. cake they had ever eaten and wanted to order one! I think I'm now in the cake business. The only substitution I made was 1 cup of hot strong coffee for the liquer and I melted the choc. chips with it. The recipe was perfect for a 12 inch round cake pan to, then I just made 2 batches to layer it. Tres Magnifique !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
This is definitely a make-again cake! Rich, dense cake with a hint of Kaluha. Delicious. I sliced it lengthwise and added a coffee whipped cream to the middle. (Called "Mocha Cream," in the fillings and frostings section). That added a nice light texture and coffee flavor to break up the dense chocolate-y goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Absolutely delicious! My husband, who doesn't like chocolate cake, ate 2 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Delicious! Would like a piece right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
I've made about 3 cakes in my entire life, but I wanted to do something special for my roommate's birthday. I used one reviewer's idea of filling with the mocha cream, and it was very easy and turned out wonderfully. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This cake is excellent! Everyone always raves about it. I had one friend who begged me to give him more after eating 1/2 of the cake! It is very rich and chocolatey and tastes great with a caramel or chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Excellent cake! Well, mine turned out good because I used 2/3 cup of Kaluha. Also, by accident, I read it wrong and put it 2 tablespoons of oil. Actually, that made the texture just right! Definetly making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I didn't actually have a bundt cake pan when I made this so I used a round pan but it was still awesome. My family went crazy for it and my grandma always asks for it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I love dark chocolate so I had to give this a try. I brought this over to a super bowl party. The first thing that popped out of everyone's mouth was, "Does this have alcohol in it?" The coffee-flavored liqueur may be a little bit too strong so you might want to hold off on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
2 yummy!! Wow my family loves this cake! I had to substitute a yellow cake mix for a choc. mix because I didnt have choc. I also only used 4T of oil like others suggested it was plenty. I also decreased the coffee liquer too 1/2 cup that was just right. I used the coffee butter frosting from this site, soooo much better than the prepared kind. THANKS for this rec. will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States