Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
This is THE BEST CAKE ! I made it for a baby shower(shaped & decorated like a bib) and added a chocolate mousse filing between the layers...chocolate heaven! I got so many compliments, everyone said it was the best choc. cake they had ever eaten and wanted to order one! I think I'm now in the cake business. The only substitution I made was 1 cup of hot strong coffee for the liquer and I melted the choc. chips with it. The recipe was perfect for a 12 inch round cake pan to, then I just made 2 batches to layer it. Tres Magnifique !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This cake is excellent! Moist, semi-dense, rich - all of my favorite cake adjectives. I followed recipe exactly, except for usuing 3/4 cup mini chips instead of 1 cup regular. I was going to make a ganache and decided at the last minute to follow the recipe directions for the icing - glad I did! I used a dark chocolate fudge frosting with the Kahlua. We took this to a party and all of the very full guests had to have some. H didn't want to leave it and ate one more piece before we went home. I'll make this again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I used this batter for cupcakes and they were the best!!!!!!! As suggested in a review below, I used coffee instead of liqueur and it worked great. I also used the allrecipe "Coffee Butter Frosting" to top the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Perhaps this recipe would be wonderful without this much oil. It made the cake heavy and greasy tasting. One cup of Kahlua is way too much unless you want to taste nothing but the liquer. I would recommend cutting the oil to 2/3 and the liquor to 1/2. Sorry, I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Excellent cake! Well, mine turned out good because I used 2/3 cup of Kaluha. Also, by accident, I read it wrong and put it 2 tablespoons of oil. Actually, that made the texture just right! Definetly making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
This is definitely a make-again cake! Rich, dense cake with a hint of Kaluha. Delicious. I sliced it lengthwise and added a coffee whipped cream to the middle. (Called "Mocha Cream," in the fillings and frostings section). That added a nice light texture and coffee flavor to break up the dense chocolate-y goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I love dark chocolate so I had to give this a try. I brought this over to a super bowl party. The first thing that popped out of everyone's mouth was, "Does this have alcohol in it?" The coffee-flavored liqueur may be a little bit too strong so you might want to hold off on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
It's a nice chocolate cake, but not quite a mocha. 3~4 tablespoons of oil were perfect for this cake. 1 and 1/4 cup of sour cream was also good for more moist. I rather use "coffee butter frosting" from allrecipes than prepared chocolate frosting. It was too sweet and too much chocolate. You might want to sprinkle some coconut flake or chopped nut on top for decolation. Without deco, the cake looks so boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minyoung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This was great! I used double strength coffee instead of liquor in the cake. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was very good. My family voted it 5 stars but I give it 4. I subbed coffee for the coffee flavored liquer. This was so super easy, maybe I should give it a 5? Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States