Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
This is THE BEST CAKE ! I made it for a baby shower(shaped & decorated like a bib) and added a chocolate mousse filing between the layers...chocolate heaven! I got so many compliments, everyone said it was the best choc. cake they had ever eaten and wanted to order one! I think I'm now in the cake business. The only substitution I made was 1 cup of hot strong coffee for the liquer and I melted the choc. chips with it. The recipe was perfect for a 12 inch round cake pan to, then I just made 2 batches to layer it. Tres Magnifique !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
This is definitely a make-again cake! Rich, dense cake with a hint of Kaluha. Delicious. I sliced it lengthwise and added a coffee whipped cream to the middle. (Called "Mocha Cream," in the fillings and frostings section). That added a nice light texture and coffee flavor to break up the dense chocolate-y goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Absolutely delicious! My husband, who doesn't like chocolate cake, ate 2 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Delicious! Would like a piece right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
I've made about 3 cakes in my entire life, but I wanted to do something special for my roommate's birthday. I used one reviewer's idea of filling with the mocha cream, and it was very easy and turned out wonderfully. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This chocolate cake is good - not GREAT. I prefer the chocolate cavity maker cake from this site -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This cake is excellent! Everyone always raves about it. I had one friend who begged me to give him more after eating 1/2 of the cake! It is very rich and chocolatey and tastes great with a caramel or chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Perhaps this recipe would be wonderful without this much oil. It made the cake heavy and greasy tasting. One cup of Kahlua is way too much unless you want to taste nothing but the liquer. I would recommend cutting the oil to 2/3 and the liquor to 1/2. Sorry, I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Excellent cake! Well, mine turned out good because I used 2/3 cup of Kaluha. Also, by accident, I read it wrong and put it 2 tablespoons of oil. Actually, that made the texture just right! Definetly making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
It's a nice chocolate cake, but not quite a mocha. 3~4 tablespoons of oil were perfect for this cake. 1 and 1/4 cup of sour cream was also good for more moist. I rather use "coffee butter frosting" from allrecipes than prepared chocolate frosting. It was too sweet and too much chocolate. You might want to sprinkle some coconut flake or chopped nut on top for decolation. Without deco, the cake looks so boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States