Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I followed directions to the spot and followed other's direction of reducing the oil. The texture was fabulous (soft, not too oily, spongey) but the taste was not high on my list of ever want to taste again. I will keep the recipe to manioulate for other cake flavors but I won't be making the "mocha" part ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This was great! I used double strength coffee instead of liquor in the cake. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
2 yummy!! Wow my family loves this cake! I had to substitute a yellow cake mix for a choc. mix because I didnt have choc. I also only used 4T of oil like others suggested it was plenty. I also decreased the coffee liquer too 1/2 cup that was just right. I used the coffee butter frosting from this site, soooo much better than the prepared kind. THANKS for this rec. will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I love dark chocolate so I had to give this a try. I brought this over to a super bowl party. The first thing that popped out of everyone's mouth was, "Does this have alcohol in it?" The coffee-flavored liqueur may be a little bit too strong so you might want to hold off on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I didn't actually have a bundt cake pan when I made this so I used a round pan but it was still awesome. My family went crazy for it and my grandma always asks for it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was very good. My family voted it 5 stars but I give it 4. I subbed coffee for the coffee flavored liquer. This was so super easy, maybe I should give it a 5? Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I used this batter for cupcakes and they were the best!!!!!!! As suggested in a review below, I used coffee instead of liqueur and it worked great. I also used the allrecipe "Coffee Butter Frosting" to top the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
It's a nice chocolate cake, but not quite a mocha. 3~4 tablespoons of oil were perfect for this cake. 1 and 1/4 cup of sour cream was also good for more moist. I rather use "coffee butter frosting" from allrecipes than prepared chocolate frosting. It was too sweet and too much chocolate. You might want to sprinkle some coconut flake or chopped nut on top for decolation. Without deco, the cake looks so boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Excellent cake! Well, mine turned out good because I used 2/3 cup of Kaluha. Also, by accident, I read it wrong and put it 2 tablespoons of oil. Actually, that made the texture just right! Definetly making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Perhaps this recipe would be wonderful without this much oil. It made the cake heavy and greasy tasting. One cup of Kahlua is way too much unless you want to taste nothing but the liquer. I would recommend cutting the oil to 2/3 and the liquor to 1/2. Sorry, I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States