Mocha Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Made this for a Girls' Night out party and it was EXCELLENT. Wonderfully moist and awesome flavor. Will definitely keep recipe for repeated use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
The recipe produced more batter than necessary and the cake baked over the top of the pan. I was concerned at how soupy the batter was. Next time, I will pour less batter into the cake pan. Also, I wasn't sure if the coffee should be hot when it is added or cooled first. Nevertheless, the cake turned out delicious! I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This cake was fabulous! I made it for my boyfriend's golden birthday and the entire cake was gone within 15 minutes. My only real regret is that I should have made 2(: Even his uncle who was on a strict diet couldn't resist 2 pieces! I used 1.5 cups sugar and the non-alcoholic version. Any more sugar would have been unnecessary really. Also, next time I plan on using part espresso rather than just the strong coffee, because there wasn't much of an aroma or coffee essence to the cake. It was still wonderful, but I would love a stronger coffee presence. I didn't put all the glaze on the top, because it seemed to be drowning the cake. It was still a billion degrees from the oven, and I had to get to the party, so it just totally sucked up all the glaze. I would actually put it all on next time, because that honestly made the cake. You will be very proud to serve this cake no matter if you make it as directed or alter it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by essensual911
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Wow...I can't stop eating it! And I didn't even bother making the glaze. I kept everything else pretty much the same except sugar, I lower it to a little less than one (brown sugar) and a half (white sugar) cup instead of 2 cups. I use espresso and Godiva Praline liquor because I ran out of Bailey. I divided in 2 loaf pans and baked about 45 minutes. Beautyful dark chocolate color and so moist! Thank you so much for the recipe. - 28 Aug 2006/ Just made it again with shiny chocolate glaze. Still scrumptious and there is nothing left after a dinner party. - 30 Mar 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essensual911

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
After reading the reviews I had high expectations from this recipe, but I was disappointed. The cake had a weird texture to it, almost rubbery. (A disclaimer -- since I just wanted to try this I only made half a recipe in a 6-cup bundt, but based on that trial I don't think I'll use this recipe again.) For me there was also something off in the balance between the coffee, liquer and cocoa, though my colleagues liked it well enough. We had it a la mode and the vanilla ice cream saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Moist, very sweet, and very strong flavor (both coffee and alcohol). One of my guests suggested that it would be better served in a glass! Personally, I like Amaretto Cake better because the flavor is less overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Made this at Xmas time for the teachers at my daughter's school. They've been asking for another one ever since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MireBast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Finally a chocolate cake that doesn't taste of baking soda and is nice and fluffy like a chiffon cake! Bf said the coffee flavour is too strong but as this is a personal thing, I'm still giving this a 5-star! The only difference is that I used an angelfood cake tin as don't have a bundt. This cake should really change its name, it is more of a chiffon cake than a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABNOLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This cake was absolutely delicious. I used the chocolate syrup vs. coffee liquer. I also added a 1/2 c. chocolate chips to batter. Yum Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Thank you so much for posting this. I made mini bundt cakes with this recipe and added chocolate chips and they were a hit. I am thinking of making my own coffee liquor and using it next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States