MMMmmm Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is such an easy cake to make. Unfortunately I live at high altitude, so the first time I tried this the cupcakes sort of exploded and fell at the same time. I made these alterations and the second batch are perfect! Add 2 tbsp Water Add 1 more Egg Use All Purpose Flour instead of Self-Rising Decrease Sugar by 2 tbsp Take a pinch out of the tsp Baking Soda Makes 24 cupcakes and bakes in 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this cake for my brother's anniversary cookout yesterday...I had no trouble with the cake staying together at all! I baked it for 28 minutes not the 30-40 listed in recipe and I only used half of the icing..It was yummy and the recipe is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliemo3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This recipe came out great, and I am not a baker at all! The only thing I did differently was add more cocoa powder to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very moist and delicious, i made it and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is a wonderfully tasting, moist and delicious chocolate cake. My entire family raved about this cake. I did a couple of things different- used all butter (no shortening) and used all purpose flour instead of self-rising flour. Next time I will only use half of the frosting... I love frosting, but this cake didn't need that much. I might even try a sprinkle of powdered sugar on top instead of frosting all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlierose
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I grew up on this cake but my mom called it "Ann's Chocolate cake" and she and I just do everything in the sauce pan. Why mess up a bowl? Sometimes I use leftover coffee instead of water and it's very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time and it turned out perfect.My while family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I made it for my mom's birthday, and after I had gotten the ingredients, she told me she wanted a yellow cake instead, so I didn't add the cocoa to the cake, but I added 1 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp butter flavor (love that stuff!). I liberally sprayed Baker's Joy non-stick spray to my two 9 inch rounds, and let them cool for about 10 minutes before removing them from the pans. They turned out great! No sticking, no falling apart. I ended up using buttermilk in the icing as well as the cake, and used 3 tsp before it was the right consistency, but it smoothed onto the warm cakes like butter. I decorated with pecans instead of adding them to the icing. Will definitely make this cake again. Looking forward to trying the chocolate version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Our FAVORITE cake! I make it for birthdays, special occasions or just because. Definately the 'go-to' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Great recipe. It's light, fluffy, not too sweet. I made some adjustments, replaced the shortening with butter and made half the amount of icing from the advice of other reviewers. I will make all the icing next time. I like icing. I took mine out after 30 minutes so it didn't dry out and it's perfect. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States