Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Excellent! The only change I would suggest is to cook the butter until a caramel brown, let sit up to 4 mins to let separation occur, and strain the butter through a strainer lined with a paper towel for perfect browned butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I'm going to make this tonight for Valentine's Day. Trader Joes sells the Mizthra cheese in plastic tubs and it's pretty inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This is the famous dish which legend tells us was eaten by Homer while writing his epics. Mizithra cheese is a Greek cheese made from goats milk and is semi-hard. It can be difficult to find and many cheese purveyors will not be familiar with it. Find a local Greek store and they can get it, normally at a very affordable price. Note the recipe says to add the cheese to taste. The recipe is very versatile, add saute'd mushrooms or substitute olive oil for very simple changes. Excellent as a side dish or light meal. Much better than those noodle dishes in a bag available at the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Incredible !!! The SPAGHETTI FACTORY sells the Mizthra cheese in 8 oz. bags for about $4 and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I make this with pine nuts and green peas, I also brown garlic in the butter before adding the other ingredients. Then add some oregano and black pepper. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
OMG! This dish is so good! I am Greek and grew up eatting my pasta with grated myzithra. I food shop at a huge Greek supermarket in NY so finding it was no problem at all, You have to make sure the butter is a rich caramel color before you add it to the pasta. It makes a difference. Myzithra is very salty but it balances out very well with the sweetness of the butter. I would give it 10 stars if I could! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureIce23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Little Ferry, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
So simple and delicious! But do be sure the brown the butter (to a nut brown color). I do this at a low boil - it's worth the time! It completely changes the taste of the butter which is what makes this recipe AMAZING. Watch the butter closely though so it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
This dish is served a t the famous spaghetti factory in San Diego. My husband loved it so much I had to figure out how to make it at home. Your recipe is the same as mine. What is nice about this recipe is exact measurements are not important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
The spaghetti factory in Portland, OR serves this... it's great with chicken marsala! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is one of those dishes my kids ask for every holiday. And weekday, and weekend :-) The way my Greek mother taught me- sprinkle the serving dish with grated cheese, layer on a third of the pasta, sprinkle with cheese, layer 1/3 pasta, sprinkle more cheese, layer rest of pasta, sprinkle with cheese. In a fry pan, heat butter until slightly browned Pour over the very hot browned butter over the pasta and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States