Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was pretty good. One of my favorite places to go is The Old Spaghetti Factory and this is a signature dish for them. I have made it a few times. My favorite was when I melted the butter and added a splash of white wine (dry). I also added a handfull of cheese to the butter wine combination. I then tossed the pasta and topped it off with the remaining cheese. The wine helped the sauce stick to the pasta a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homecookingwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I've been wanting to make this for a while but had a hard time finding Mizithra. Went to 5 stores and Safeway had it but it was finely grated. I ended up getting the cheese at OSF. They sell it by 1/2 lb at $5.75. I used the same ingredients but didn't use the same measurements. I followed the other viewers suggestions on browning the sweet butter, 1.5 cups, first before tossing it in with the noodles. I didn't skim the butter, I poured it all in. I used 1/4 lb of cheese and that was plenty, including shaking some on the top of the noodles. It tasted just like the one at the OSF. My tummy loves it but I think my thighs & heart begs to differ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
In my opinion, the key to this recipe is the brown butter! Brown unsalted butter over medium heat in a light colored pan for several minutes, stirring quite frequently, until it foams and turns a beautiful golden brown color. You can tell it's done by the wonderful nutty aroma it gives off as well as the brown bits in the bottom of the pan. No need to strain! I personally use angel hair pasta because I like a thinner pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I suppose clarified butter (ghee) can be used in place of the butter; after all, by skimming off the milk solids as per this recipe, you are in essence making clarified butter during the process of making the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
oh my god!!! amazing!!! I just made it for my friend and I and we were Mmmming the entire time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskellyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I found myzithra cheese at WINCO for a great price! Grated it myself, doubled the recipe, and this was enough pasta to serve 10 people, for under $10!! It is important, when browning the butter, to let it get to the foaming stage while on a medium heat. Stir it constantly, and when the foaming subsides, it will start to turn amber/golden. Turn off the heat, and let it sit for a few minutes, then run it through a strainer, to remove the burnt solids from the liquid butter. You can make the butter in big batches, and store it in the fridge too! Just use a large pot. My friends and family loved this, so much that we all had it for breakfast the next morning too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I live in the Bay Area in California and Mizithra was difficult for me to find. Our local Trader Joe's did not sell it but just a few weeks ago I found it at our local Safeway grated in a 4oz tub. Hope that helps those looking for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mareadona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Absolutley love this!! It is so easy to make and quick. I must agree with the the others, you must use "butter". I used the unsalted butter and it was delicious! However, the Mizithra was not easy to find but was able to purchase it from OSF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is the easiest, quickest meal on this site. I start to brown my butter over a medium to low heat and don't bother skimming the solids off the top. If you let it go long enough, those milk solids are what the little browned bits are, but you have to be careful to do it over a slow enough heat. It's a fine line. I do use whole grain spaghetti with about 1/4 C of the pasta water reserved. After draining, I replace the water to offer a little creaminess to the pasta, toss with the hot browned butter and mix thoroughly with a small handful of the cheese to mix throughout. Put it all in a serving dish and top with the remaining cheese and chopped parsley. So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
We came across this recipe by word of mouth several years ago and make it at least monthly. Doesn't really work with margarine but will do in a pinch if you don't have real butter. Definately need to carmelize the butter then basically sautee the pasta in the butter a few minutes before plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States