Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
OMG! This dish is so good! I am Greek and grew up eatting my pasta with grated myzithra. I food shop at a huge Greek supermarket in NY so finding it was no problem at all, You have to make sure the butter is a rich caramel color before you add it to the pasta. It makes a difference. Myzithra is very salty but it balances out very well with the sweetness of the butter. I would give it 10 stars if I could! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureIce23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Little Ferry, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I can't help but order this when I go to The Spaghetti Factory. It's wonderful! I'll be making this tonight for dinner. I had no trouble finding the cheese but only under the alternate spelling, Myzithra, at Von's, Save Mart and Winco. For the pasta I'll use a Whole Wheat High Fiber spaghetti...have to try to counteract all that fat of the cheese and butter. HA!! Thanks for adding this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is delicious, albeit unbelievably unhealthy. I use a one to one ratio of butter to cheese. The longer you brown the butter, the richer and nuttier the flavor. It is best to pour the butter through a fine mesh sieve after cooking. This is so popular at Old Spaghetti Factory restaurants that many sell the Mizithra cheese to their customers. Otherwise, look at specialty/international markets or upscale groceries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is my favorite all time dish! I had no idea it was this easy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Fabulous! This IS the Old Spaghetti Factory recipe. Thanks for a great addition to our meal! Definitely 5*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
OH MY does this tast just like the old spegehtti factory! Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is my favorite indulgent dish! I find the straight mizithra a little salty for me, so I usually do half mizithra and half parmesan (it also helps make the mizithra last longer, since it can be expensive and hard to find). It tastes just as good, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
My family are big fans of this recipe. We always ordered it @ the Old Spaghetti Factory growing up. It's great to make it @ home as a treat w/much finer grated mizithra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
The hubby and I had a craving for Mizithra Pasta but were too lazy to go to Spaghetti Factory and wait in the long line on a Friday night. We picked up the ingredients and it turned out PERFECT! Thanks for posting this recipe. Going right into the all time favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kymberlie2873

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I love this recipe! My family tried to make it a few times after trying it at the Spaghetti Factory, but we could never get it right. The trick is the browned butter. Now we make it for all family get togethers. I make it with 1/2 the butter and it's still sinfully delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States