Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I worked at Spag, and this was my favorite dish. Actually the cheese they use isn't really Mizithra... It's half Romano and half Ricotta Salata. ( Which is probably harder to find than Mizithra...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
It didn't turn out for me I'm not sure what I did wrong it just didn't taste right and the texture was a bit weird(on and I've had a good version before so I think I know what it's supposed to taste like)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I used whole wheat spaghetti and it was still amazing! I would have used regular spaghetti if I had had any, and that is what I'll use next time. This tastes exactly like the mizithra cheese pasta at Old Spaghetti Factory! I let the butter cook the entire time the pasta was cooking to get a nice rich color, and I strained it through a paper towel. Worked wonderfully and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Yum-o! I made to top cheese tortellinis. I didn't have mizithra cheese, so i just used parm and it was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I make this with pine nuts and green peas, I also brown garlic in the butter before adding the other ingredients. Then add some oregano and black pepper. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
OMG! This dish is so good! I am Greek and grew up eatting my pasta with grated myzithra. I food shop at a huge Greek supermarket in NY so finding it was no problem at all, You have to make sure the butter is a rich caramel color before you add it to the pasta. It makes a difference. Myzithra is very salty but it balances out very well with the sweetness of the butter. I would give it 10 stars if I could! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureIce23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Little Ferry, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I can't help but order this when I go to The Spaghetti Factory. It's wonderful! I'll be making this tonight for dinner. I had no trouble finding the cheese but only under the alternate spelling, Myzithra, at Von's, Save Mart and Winco. For the pasta I'll use a Whole Wheat High Fiber spaghetti...have to try to counteract all that fat of the cheese and butter. HA!! Thanks for adding this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is delicious, albeit unbelievably unhealthy. I use a one to one ratio of butter to cheese. The longer you brown the butter, the richer and nuttier the flavor. It is best to pour the butter through a fine mesh sieve after cooking. This is so popular at Old Spaghetti Factory restaurants that many sell the Mizithra cheese to their customers. Otherwise, look at specialty/international markets or upscale groceries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is my favorite all time dish! I had no idea it was this easy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Fabulous! This IS the Old Spaghetti Factory recipe. Thanks for a great addition to our meal! Definitely 5*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States