Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This dish is going to look really plain, so I suggest adding in some black pepper at the end, toss it a few more times, and serve. Black and white looks real classy, to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
We absolutely loved this! First time I've browned butter-couldn't be easier. Just like the dish I used to adore at the Spaghetti Factory. I did add some minced onion, garlic and a few baby bella sliced mushrooms to sweat and soften after the butter had browned. Poured sauce over cooked fettucini and then tossed in the mizithra. Didn't add any salt as the cheese is very salty. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I worked at Spag, and this was my favorite dish. Actually the cheese they use isn't really Mizithra... It's half Romano and half Ricotta Salata. ( Which is probably harder to find than Mizithra...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
It didn't turn out for me I'm not sure what I did wrong it just didn't taste right and the texture was a bit weird(on and I've had a good version before so I think I know what it's supposed to taste like)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I used whole wheat spaghetti and it was still amazing! I would have used regular spaghetti if I had had any, and that is what I'll use next time. This tastes exactly like the mizithra cheese pasta at Old Spaghetti Factory! I let the butter cook the entire time the pasta was cooking to get a nice rich color, and I strained it through a paper towel. Worked wonderfully and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Yum-o! I made to top cheese tortellinis. I didn't have mizithra cheese, so i just used parm and it was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I make this with pine nuts and green peas, I also brown garlic in the butter before adding the other ingredients. Then add some oregano and black pepper. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
OMG! This dish is so good! I am Greek and grew up eatting my pasta with grated myzithra. I food shop at a huge Greek supermarket in NY so finding it was no problem at all, You have to make sure the butter is a rich caramel color before you add it to the pasta. It makes a difference. Myzithra is very salty but it balances out very well with the sweetness of the butter. I would give it 10 stars if I could! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureIce23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Little Ferry, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I can't help but order this when I go to The Spaghetti Factory. It's wonderful! I'll be making this tonight for dinner. I had no trouble finding the cheese but only under the alternate spelling, Myzithra, at Von's, Save Mart and Winco. For the pasta I'll use a Whole Wheat High Fiber spaghetti...have to try to counteract all that fat of the cheese and butter. HA!! Thanks for adding this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is delicious, albeit unbelievably unhealthy. I use a one to one ratio of butter to cheese. The longer you brown the butter, the richer and nuttier the flavor. It is best to pour the butter through a fine mesh sieve after cooking. This is so popular at Old Spaghetti Factory restaurants that many sell the Mizithra cheese to their customers. Otherwise, look at specialty/international markets or upscale groceries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States