Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes- I got it once at Old Spaghetti Factory and was instantly in love... but I went without for ages because there's no OSF in Alaska and I never realized how easy it was to make! A side note, I had zilch trouble finding Mizithra cheese, which in off-the-road Alaska is a feat: it was in with the specialty cheeses at Fred Meyers. I would advise against telling picky individuals that the cheese is from sheep, though. Make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I have also made this dish with Asiago Cheese instead of Mizithra. Any sharp cheese can be substituted. Very good with chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My yiayia used to make this Greek "macaronia" all the time! It's a favorite family stand-by. Grated parmesan works okay if you can't find mizithra. The secret lies in browning the butter well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I love pasta in brown butter. Instead of buying expensive cheese, I use cottage cheese with some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My boyfriend and I love going to a local Greek restaurant and he always orders this dish. I was so excited to try this recipe and it absolutely did not disappoint. Delicious and perfect just the way it is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Tastes just like what is served at Spaghetti Factory! I brown my butter till it's a deep golden color- this produces a nuttier taste. Be sure to use unsalted butter as the cheese is already salty enough, and do NOT use margarine. The butter/cheese combo also works well with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Delicious and so so so EASY! Try using 1/2 parmesan and 1/2 mizitrhra.....believe it or not it is a little less salty like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Just as good as Old Spaghetti Factory's. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe and so did my step-daughter! Definitely would've been better to brown butter a bit longer, and I strained the butter. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
awsume!!!! luv it!!the cheese is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States