Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Absolutley love this!! It is so easy to make and quick. I must agree with the the others, you must use "butter". I used the unsalted butter and it was delicious! However, the Mizithra was not easy to find but was able to purchase it from OSF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is the easiest, quickest meal on this site. I start to brown my butter over a medium to low heat and don't bother skimming the solids off the top. If you let it go long enough, those milk solids are what the little browned bits are, but you have to be careful to do it over a slow enough heat. It's a fine line. I do use whole grain spaghetti with about 1/4 C of the pasta water reserved. After draining, I replace the water to offer a little creaminess to the pasta, toss with the hot browned butter and mix thoroughly with a small handful of the cheese to mix throughout. Put it all in a serving dish and top with the remaining cheese and chopped parsley. So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
We came across this recipe by word of mouth several years ago and make it at least monthly. Doesn't really work with margarine but will do in a pinch if you don't have real butter. Definately need to carmelize the butter then basically sautee the pasta in the butter a few minutes before plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Just like the Old Spaghetti Factory... YUM MIER than theirs !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykasba
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is my favorite dish ever, love it at OSF and love at home even better. I have to admit it is not easy finding the Mizithra cheese, however you can buy it at the OSF website and resturants. Must get the butter perfect if you burn it tastes really bad. We always add just a little bit of tomato sauce on ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very tasty! If you use salted butter, most of the salt is taken out with the solids, so the mizithra cheese isn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Tasted just like the stuff at The Old Spaghetti Factory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Long time fan of this recipe. I agree with other reviews; it important to get the butter right. Excellent meal for picky kids. We have 5 teenagers (which means lots of extra kids) and have yet to find a kid around that wont eat it! Winco carries Mizithra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this twice, two nights in a row. The first I followed exactly but had to use Feta because I didn't want to go to the store-it was fantastic! The second night, while the butter was browning I tossed in a peeled garlic clove then removed before serving. I also stirred in some chopped lobster meat and used the Mizithra cheese. The garlic added a nice layer of flavor without being over powering! Honestly there isn't much of a difference in my opinion between the Mizithra and Feta-only that the feta melts a bit so if you can't find mizithra just get a block of good feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Delicioso!! Wat else can I say! Just be sure you use browned butter. This is the best pasta ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States