Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I found myzithra cheese at WINCO for a great price! Grated it myself, doubled the recipe, and this was enough pasta to serve 10 people, for under $10!! It is important, when browning the butter, to let it get to the foaming stage while on a medium heat. Stir it constantly, and when the foaming subsides, it will start to turn amber/golden. Turn off the heat, and let it sit for a few minutes, then run it through a strainer, to remove the burnt solids from the liquid butter. You can make the butter in big batches, and store it in the fridge too! Just use a large pot. My friends and family loved this, so much that we all had it for breakfast the next morning too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I live in the Bay Area in California and Mizithra was difficult for me to find. Our local Trader Joe's did not sell it but just a few weeks ago I found it at our local Safeway grated in a 4oz tub. Hope that helps those looking for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mareadona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Absolutley love this!! It is so easy to make and quick. I must agree with the the others, you must use "butter". I used the unsalted butter and it was delicious! However, the Mizithra was not easy to find but was able to purchase it from OSF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is the easiest, quickest meal on this site. I start to brown my butter over a medium to low heat and don't bother skimming the solids off the top. If you let it go long enough, those milk solids are what the little browned bits are, but you have to be careful to do it over a slow enough heat. It's a fine line. I do use whole grain spaghetti with about 1/4 C of the pasta water reserved. After draining, I replace the water to offer a little creaminess to the pasta, toss with the hot browned butter and mix thoroughly with a small handful of the cheese to mix throughout. Put it all in a serving dish and top with the remaining cheese and chopped parsley. So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
We came across this recipe by word of mouth several years ago and make it at least monthly. Doesn't really work with margarine but will do in a pinch if you don't have real butter. Definately need to carmelize the butter then basically sautee the pasta in the butter a few minutes before plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Just like the Old Spaghetti Factory... YUM MIER than theirs !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykasba
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is my favorite dish ever, love it at OSF and love at home even better. I have to admit it is not easy finding the Mizithra cheese, however you can buy it at the OSF website and resturants. Must get the butter perfect if you burn it tastes really bad. We always add just a little bit of tomato sauce on ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very tasty! If you use salted butter, most of the salt is taken out with the solids, so the mizithra cheese isn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Tasted just like the stuff at The Old Spaghetti Factory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Long time fan of this recipe. I agree with other reviews; it important to get the butter right. Excellent meal for picky kids. We have 5 teenagers (which means lots of extra kids) and have yet to find a kid around that wont eat it! Winco carries Mizithra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States