Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
One of my favourite ways of eating spaghetti. However, the recipe is missing the most important ingredient - dried mint! This is how it's eaten in Cyprus (we eat it with Anari, which is our version of Mizithra) and it makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this tonight, but didn't skim the fats off the butter. It definately didn't taste the same. My butter was carmel & my mizithra cheese was finely grated. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My Grandmother made me this same dish growing up. She called it Greek Spagetti. It is fantastic and the ingredients are easy to come by at Whole Foods or a Mediterranean Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
So good! I used less butter, about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was pretty good. One of my favorite places to go is The Old Spaghetti Factory and this is a signature dish for them. I have made it a few times. My favorite was when I melted the butter and added a splash of white wine (dry). I also added a handfull of cheese to the butter wine combination. I then tossed the pasta and topped it off with the remaining cheese. The wine helped the sauce stick to the pasta a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homecookingwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I've been wanting to make this for a while but had a hard time finding Mizithra. Went to 5 stores and Safeway had it but it was finely grated. I ended up getting the cheese at OSF. They sell it by 1/2 lb at $5.75. I used the same ingredients but didn't use the same measurements. I followed the other viewers suggestions on browning the sweet butter, 1.5 cups, first before tossing it in with the noodles. I didn't skim the butter, I poured it all in. I used 1/4 lb of cheese and that was plenty, including shaking some on the top of the noodles. It tasted just like the one at the OSF. My tummy loves it but I think my thighs & heart begs to differ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
In my opinion, the key to this recipe is the brown butter! Brown unsalted butter over medium heat in a light colored pan for several minutes, stirring quite frequently, until it foams and turns a beautiful golden brown color. You can tell it's done by the wonderful nutty aroma it gives off as well as the brown bits in the bottom of the pan. No need to strain! I personally use angel hair pasta because I like a thinner pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I suppose clarified butter (ghee) can be used in place of the butter; after all, by skimming off the milk solids as per this recipe, you are in essence making clarified butter during the process of making the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
oh my god!!! amazing!!! I just made it for my friend and I and we were Mmmming the entire time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskellyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States