Mixed Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This too was a wonderful dish! I used 2 pkgs of frozen veggies instead of canned (thawed), one that had carrots, green beans, peas and corn and the other that had broccoli, celery and carrots. I used red onion, 1/2 cup miracle whip instead of 1 cup mayo (which added zip) and sharp cheddar cheese. A hit with my family and this successful and easy dish will appear on my dinner table many meals to come. Thanks Linna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This was really good. I did end up using sour cream instead of mayo as well as dried minced onion instead of real, but it turned out great. Easy to make as an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I substituted frozen mixed vegetables and I used baby perl onions which I love and baked it in an 8x8 dish so I didn't have to use as many crackers. I was hesitant about that much mayo but went ahead with the full cup. I will use 1/2 cup of mayo next time. This was great for lunch. I will be serving this as a side for my chicken at supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I love this recipe and have made this dish often. I do use frozen vegetables not tinned as I prefer the flavour. Nobody can believe how simple it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I was looking for a veggie casserole and came across this. We wanted to serve it for Christmas, so we made one a few days ahead of time, to see how it would taste. I was disappointed in how bland it was-given all the rave reviews on this site. So we changed it up for our dinner by these additions...started with 2 bags of frozen mixed veggies (different veggies in each-we did this the first around, too), a little minced garlic, a couple of shakes of Italian herbs, and a pkg. of Lipton Onion Soup mix (we had tried added the red onion in our first as suggested in another review-didn't quite do the trick for us). Rather than topping it with crumbled Ritz (as we'd done the first time) we covered it with Progresso Panko style bread crumbs (which also had an Italian flavor). Everyone loved it. We will make our version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I was cleaning out my pantry before the new year and was looking for a recipe that could use a lot of my odds and ends I had been storing. So this was perfect. I gave this four stars b/c I made a few changes - that were well worth it. For my veggies I used two cans of green beans, one can of creamed corn, a can of mushrooms, one cup of frozen peas and carrots (one cup total - not a cup of each), and the chopped onion. I sauteed the chopped onion, peas, carrots and mushrooms in 3T of margarine. In a large mixing bowl I mixed together the sauteed veggies and the other veggies. To this I added 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup of mayo and one can of cream of mushroom soup. Then I added 3/4 cup of seasoned bread crumbs to the veggie/soup mix. And I followed the recipe for the topping. All in all, I think I used this recipe more as a base. However, the casserole is DELICIOUS now! Sorry for the long review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This sounds really good, and I'm going to try it. Just a note to those that say it's "too tangy"...I really wonder if you're using mayo or Miracle Whip? BIG difference between those two. It shouldn't be the least bit "tangy" if you use a good mayo like Kraft or Hellman's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Just add shredded chicken, and you have chicken pot pie! Creamy and delicious. A veggie even the children don't turn down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
I tried this recipe for the first time with Easter dinner and it was a hit with everyone. Everyone wanted the recipe. It's so simple to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Good, easy, foolproof. I used no-fat Hellman's Mayo, Ritz crackers, yellow sharp shredded cheese, 1/2 large onion, cream of celery soup and baked in an oval casserole dish as shown in photo 1 above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States