Mixed Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This sounds really good, and I'm going to try it. Just a note to those that say it's "too tangy"...I really wonder if you're using mayo or Miracle Whip? BIG difference between those two. It shouldn't be the least bit "tangy" if you use a good mayo like Kraft or Hellman's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This dish was great for a Thanksgiving work party! My first time trying the casserole was great and I will definitely be using it at home. This reminds me of a potato casserole dish. I didn't change the recipe at all and it was perfect. Great for non veggie lovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Even my picky eaters likes this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I was cleaning out my pantry before the new year and was looking for a recipe that could use a lot of my odds and ends I had been storing. So this was perfect. I gave this four stars b/c I made a few changes - that were well worth it. For my veggies I used two cans of green beans, one can of creamed corn, a can of mushrooms, one cup of frozen peas and carrots (one cup total - not a cup of each), and the chopped onion. I sauteed the chopped onion, peas, carrots and mushrooms in 3T of margarine. In a large mixing bowl I mixed together the sauteed veggies and the other veggies. To this I added 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup of mayo and one can of cream of mushroom soup. Then I added 3/4 cup of seasoned bread crumbs to the veggie/soup mix. And I followed the recipe for the topping. All in all, I think I used this recipe more as a base. However, the casserole is DELICIOUS now! Sorry for the long review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This seemed to be missing something but I dont' know what. I used the Buttery Garlic Ritz crackers which I thought would had more pizazz to it, but it was too bland for any of us. I'm not sure what I did wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This was ok, my husband loved it but he was really the only one. All I could taste was the mayo. I made it for Thanksgiving and most people ate 2 or 3 bites and then left it. Too tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was great! I made this for the first time this Thanksgiving and it was a total hit, I hardly had any leftovers. I did substitue sharp cheddar cheese instead of the with cheddar, and added an extra can of mixed veggies to make more. I was worried the dish wouldn't have a good flavor without seasoning, but the mayo gives it all the flavor it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
not bad, but a little too soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This recipe looked like it would be good and quick but no one in my family really liked it much (especially the kids). It remained mostly uneaten. Way too tangy. Perhaps too much mayo? I doubt I will be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I love this recipe and have made this dish often. I do use frozen vegetables not tinned as I prefer the flavour. Nobody can believe how simple it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States