Mixed Greens with Walnut and Roasted Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This dressing would make a rock taste good. When you make it, be sure to include all the crispy black bits and the caramelized juices in the bottom of the onion roasting pan. Instead of sherry and chicken broth, I used vegetable broth, a little bit of chevre, a dash of apple cider vinegar, and a dash of worcestershire sauce. Dressing was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
The combination of the walnuts & red onion along with the dressing is quite a nice surprize. With the added ease of packaged greens this recipe is very quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
A surprising, unique, satisfying taste. Very sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Amazing salad and very original dressing with a great strong flavor! Even though it takes more than an hour to prepare, I totally recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmalchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
The roasted onion dressing has a thick consistency with a sweet tang. A welcome change from the creamy or vinegary dressings usually used on salads. Everyone who has tried this recipe loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
We keep making it over and over to go with other salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used two large red onions and instead of sherry wine vinegar I used part red wine, rice wine and balsamic. I also added dried cranberries, blue cheese and used candied instead of toasted walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I found this salad dressing very different in texture and flavor than the regular dressings I make often. I roasted the onion and as suggested by one of the reviewers I added all the bit dark parts and juice left on the baking sheet, but I wouldn't do this next time because it gave a very stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was a great alternative to a fruity dressing, which my husband hates. However, I did add a 1/4 cup of sugar to it, and next time will decrease the vinegar. But, I will make it again. The carmelized onions have a strong, yet wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Thought this was good. I didn't have sherry vinegar so I used half balsamic and half red wine vinegar. I added a few drops of liquid smoke just to give it a steak-ish flavored. I don't agree with other reviews that stated this is like gravy on salad. It won't be if the salad is tossed. It is then nice and light in texture. I also used splenda instead of sugar just for my sugar watching diet purposes. I though it was pretty decent and healthy and could be fitted in my diet. It beats the heck out of old plain olive oil and balsamic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States