Mixed Greens with Walnut and Roasted Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
The combination of the walnuts & red onion along with the dressing is quite a nice surprize. With the added ease of packaged greens this recipe is very quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
I made this for dinner with a roasted chicken this Saturday night and I really liked it. I didn't toast the walnuts but it was great. I halved the recipe and the dressing was a bit thick but otherwise impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is a good dressing, but there are improvements that could be made to this recipe. First, 2 "large" onions is kind of vague. I think I ended up using a lot more onion than was intended, making the dressing kind of thick. It would be better to use lbs or cups as a measurement. Second, some measurement of salt and pepper should be listed, to adjust to taste, because it is easy to overlook. The dressing was really bland the first time I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Great.. kids hated it but I loved it. Served it on young spinach too.. even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This dressing would make a rock taste good. When you make it, be sure to include all the crispy black bits and the caramelized juices in the bottom of the onion roasting pan. Instead of sherry and chicken broth, I used vegetable broth, a little bit of chevre, a dash of apple cider vinegar, and a dash of worcestershire sauce. Dressing was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
A surprising, unique, satisfying taste. Very sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I don't understand the rave reviews. This is the worst thing I've ever tasted - I say "tasted" because we couldn't eat it. One taste and we threw it out. I went over and over the recipe to see if perhaps I made a mistake in my preparation, but I didn't. This dressing was more like GRAVY on salad! It SOUNDS good but just didn't deliver on taste. It tasted like oily gravy. I'm so sorry Barrett. It's probably just us! All the other reviewers seemed to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
a lot of trouble and time for dressing, I have tasted much better dressing from a bottle. Maybe I did something wrong, but the dressing tasted burnt. The oinion weren't burnt though, they were micely browned and carmelized, don't know what happened, but it was gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Not a winner. Like someone else said, the dressing is basically a chicken gravy, served over salad. On paper it looks like a good idea, but in practice it just didn't work. Sorry, Barrett! On the upside, I think the dressing would taste fabulous served warm over grilled chicken, and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I served this salad and dressing at a recent dinner party. Seems to have gone over well. No one raved but there were several second-helpers. I prefer to caramelize onions in a saute' pan, however, I followed the recipe exactly and used the oven. Very nice dressing overall. How can you lose with chicken stock and onions and olive oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States