Mixed Greens with Walnut and Roasted Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
a lot of trouble and time for dressing, I have tasted much better dressing from a bottle. Maybe I did something wrong, but the dressing tasted burnt. The oinion weren't burnt though, they were micely browned and carmelized, don't know what happened, but it was gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I don't understand the rave reviews. This is the worst thing I've ever tasted - I say "tasted" because we couldn't eat it. One taste and we threw it out. I went over and over the recipe to see if perhaps I made a mistake in my preparation, but I didn't. This dressing was more like GRAVY on salad! It SOUNDS good but just didn't deliver on taste. It tasted like oily gravy. I'm so sorry Barrett. It's probably just us! All the other reviewers seemed to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
A surprising, unique, satisfying taste. Very sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This dressing would make a rock taste good. When you make it, be sure to include all the crispy black bits and the caramelized juices in the bottom of the onion roasting pan. Instead of sherry and chicken broth, I used vegetable broth, a little bit of chevre, a dash of apple cider vinegar, and a dash of worcestershire sauce. Dressing was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Great.. kids hated it but I loved it. Served it on young spinach too.. even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is a good dressing, but there are improvements that could be made to this recipe. First, 2 "large" onions is kind of vague. I think I ended up using a lot more onion than was intended, making the dressing kind of thick. It would be better to use lbs or cups as a measurement. Second, some measurement of salt and pepper should be listed, to adjust to taste, because it is easy to overlook. The dressing was really bland the first time I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
I made this for dinner with a roasted chicken this Saturday night and I really liked it. I didn't toast the walnuts but it was great. I halved the recipe and the dressing was a bit thick but otherwise impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
The combination of the walnuts & red onion along with the dressing is quite a nice surprize. With the added ease of packaged greens this recipe is very quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States