Mixed Greens with Walnut and Roasted Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
We keep making it over and over to go with other salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Amazing salad and very original dressing with a great strong flavor! Even though it takes more than an hour to prepare, I totally recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmalchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used two large red onions and instead of sherry wine vinegar I used part red wine, rice wine and balsamic. I also added dried cranberries, blue cheese and used candied instead of toasted walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was a great alternative to a fruity dressing, which my husband hates. However, I did add a 1/4 cup of sugar to it, and next time will decrease the vinegar. But, I will make it again. The carmelized onions have a strong, yet wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I found this salad dressing very different in texture and flavor than the regular dressings I make often. I roasted the onion and as suggested by one of the reviewers I added all the bit dark parts and juice left on the baking sheet, but I wouldn't do this next time because it gave a very stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Thought this was good. I didn't have sherry vinegar so I used half balsamic and half red wine vinegar. I added a few drops of liquid smoke just to give it a steak-ish flavored. I don't agree with other reviews that stated this is like gravy on salad. It won't be if the salad is tossed. It is then nice and light in texture. I also used splenda instead of sugar just for my sugar watching diet purposes. I though it was pretty decent and healthy and could be fitted in my diet. It beats the heck out of old plain olive oil and balsamic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Not a dressing to keep in the refrig! Added crumbled blue cheese to salad and liked it. Husband didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
The roasted onion dressing has a thick consistency with a sweet tang. A welcome change from the creamy or vinegary dressings usually used on salads. Everyone who has tried this recipe loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I served this salad and dressing at a recent dinner party. Seems to have gone over well. No one raved but there were several second-helpers. I prefer to caramelize onions in a saute' pan, however, I followed the recipe exactly and used the oven. Very nice dressing overall. How can you lose with chicken stock and onions and olive oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Not a winner. Like someone else said, the dressing is basically a chicken gravy, served over salad. On paper it looks like a good idea, but in practice it just didn't work. Sorry, Barrett! On the upside, I think the dressing would taste fabulous served warm over grilled chicken, and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States