Mitzie's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Wasn't too terrible impressed because there was a huge loss in flavor from cream mixture at the end. I was really looking forward to it considering all the rave reviews. I followed the recipe as written. The sour cream and cream cheese took away a lot of the beef/onion flavoring that went into this dish. However, the texture and consistency was perfect, and maybe just a little too thick because I had to add a bit more beef broth because it was soooo thick at first... just seemed to be missing something in flavor. I think cream of mushroom soup, or maybe even half the sour cream/cream cheese, might have worked better? We thought it was much too bland for our liking. I tried to cook as written, but will have to add my own flair to it next time. I was happy with how the 'gravy' made so easily for quick results, but it certainly doesn't need very long to cook once your gravy is done. This would be a great meal for a someone looking to make a quick dinner! We will try this again and tweak to our liking with more flavor, but it was a great recipe to work from...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Wow! This is so good! I add a little more garlic and will use regular sour cream but besides those minor things just as directed. It is delicious and is a huge hit in our house. I do think it becomes gravy-like much sooner than an hour so you don't have to start it so early. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKOESER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Needed more gravy but the flavor was great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I made this for my family because i wanted real homemade beef stroganoff using ground beef. I didn't want to use prepared soup in the recipe. This was delicious. The mustard added a surprisingly good flavor. I added beef broth because the gravy was too thick, served with sautéed mushrooms and egg noodles. I made the recipe for 10 so I would have plenty for 6. Everyone had seconds. Even my picky 13 year old loved it!! This will be a favorite for years to come !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Meeks Juliano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I can never make this again because I will eat all of it and begin resembling Jabba the Hut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good. I used this as a base recipe and then made it my own because that's how I like to cook. I serve this over butter noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Seriously amazing, but just don't eat it before you do any housework as nothing gets done after this rich meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I was looking for a stroganoff recipe that didn't call for "cream of..." And this was perfect! Great flavor! I only simmered for 10-15 min while my noodles were cooking. It was a bit thick so I had to add milk to thin it down so next time I'll use a little less flour (maybe 2T.). Picky kids and hubby all ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Delicious! I made it as is (just doubled the recipe) and it was wonderful! My rather picky children all ate it without one complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Pretty good. I did add more broth...probably another 3/4 cup or so, along with some canned mushrooms, and only simmered for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Simple Beef Stroganoff

A quick and easy dinner recipe with beef and noodles in a creamy mushroom sauce.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States