Mitzie's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Wasn't too terrible impressed because there was a huge loss in flavor from cream mixture at the end. I was really looking forward to it considering all the rave reviews. I followed the recipe as written. The sour cream and cream cheese took away a lot of the beef/onion flavoring that went into this dish. However, the texture and consistency was perfect, and maybe just a little too thick because I had to add a bit more beef broth because it was soooo thick at first... just seemed to be missing something in flavor. I think cream of mushroom soup, or maybe even half the sour cream/cream cheese, might have worked better? We thought it was much too bland for our liking. I tried to cook as written, but will have to add my own flair to it next time. I was happy with how the 'gravy' made so easily for quick results, but it certainly doesn't need very long to cook once your gravy is done. This would be a great meal for a someone looking to make a quick dinner! We will try this again and tweak to our liking with more flavor, but it was a great recipe to work from...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Wow! This is so good! I add a little more garlic and will use regular sour cream but besides those minor things just as directed. It is delicious and is a huge hit in our house. I do think it becomes gravy-like much sooner than an hour so you don't have to start it so early. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKOESER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Needed more gravy but the flavor was great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I made this for my family because i wanted real homemade beef stroganoff using ground beef. I didn't want to use prepared soup in the recipe. This was delicious. The mustard added a surprisingly good flavor. I added beef broth because the gravy was too thick, served with sautéed mushrooms and egg noodles. I made the recipe for 10 so I would have plenty for 6. Everyone had seconds. Even my picky 13 year old loved it!! This will be a favorite for years to come !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Meeks Juliano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I can never make this again because I will eat all of it and begin resembling Jabba the Hut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good. I used this as a base recipe and then made it my own because that's how I like to cook. I serve this over butter noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Seriously amazing, but just don't eat it before you do any housework as nothing gets done after this rich meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I was looking for a stroganoff recipe that didn't call for "cream of..." And this was perfect! Great flavor! I only simmered for 10-15 min while my noodles were cooking. It was a bit thick so I had to add milk to thin it down so next time I'll use a little less flour (maybe 2T.). Picky kids and hubby all ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Delicious! I made it as is (just doubled the recipe) and it was wonderful! My rather picky children all ate it without one complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Pretty good. I did add more broth...probably another 3/4 cup or so, along with some canned mushrooms, and only simmered for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States