Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I decided to try this recipe at the last minute and didn't have 3+ hours to marinade. After cooking the marinade I placed the pork chops in a baking dish and completely soaked them with the soy mixture then baked them 45 minutes in the soy mixture bath. For the last 15 minutes I put the pork chops on a rack and baked with the ketchup/cocktail sauce. The chops melted in our mouths and were delicious!! My family thought the cocktail sauce wasn't the best complement to the pork - so I might try it with the original chili sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Yes, this was a mistake, but not one made for the good. My advise is... follow the orginal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I made this exactly as written and it was wonderful! I tried it again in my slow cooker and even though it came out juicer it was still very good, though not as good as when cooked as per directions. To make in the slow cooker I used frozen pork chops so I also didn't get to marinade them, either which detracted from the full flavor experience. Hubby really liked it too. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Easy to make, tastes great, family favorite. Be sure to bake in shallow pan so chops will get crisp on outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I enjoyed the recipe as is, and for my taste I think that using sweet chili sauce instead of cocktail sauce would make this way too sweet! I will probably decrease the brown sugar next time, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My family loved them but I thought they were too sweet. I'll probablyl make it again though just cuz my family loved it so much. I did like the sauce on rice - I think eatcing the dish with rice helped thin out the sweetness a little....anyway - I'm just giving it 4 stars cuz my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Wow...this was really delicious!!! It was so full of flavour, the right amount of spicy and sweet! BUT I used the 'original' recipe, I love chili and don't really care for cocktail sauce, so I didn't replace it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The salt content is a worrisome factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Wow! This is a great 'mistake'! I tried this the other night, and my boyfriend was both shocked and delighted when I told him I basically used cocktail sauce for this marinade. I would definitely do this again!! I think next time I might add a wee bit of cayenne or crushed red pepper for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyQuinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I got the best compliment - my boyfriend said these pork chops were better than his mother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States