Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The Flavour was wonderful Don't know where I went wrong the meat was done but tough as leather. I think it needs to cook longer at a lower tempture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shirdel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asotin, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
These were WONDERFUL! I love cocktail sauce! I finally realized that it was cocktail sauce I liked more than the shrimp in shrimp cocktail so this recipe seemed right up my alley! I did make a slight change, however, after trying the original recipe. I wonder if many folks realize there is LOW SODIUM soy sauce available? I used that the second version instead & it worked beautifully! The original soy sauce level contained a WHOPPING 4735 mg. of sodium, (189% daily requirement) so by using the low sodium version, I was able to lower that amount, at least. In addition to that, after making it with this minor change, the next time I added about a Tablespoon of horseradish, to add spice. This was because my family requested "more zip";-). It did zip it, and again, the dish had the same wonderful flavor! This recipe is DEFINITLY a keeper! I will admit that with the sodium issue & the high sugar element, I will have to limit the times I serve this wonderful meal! Thanks so much Bookchicadee for publishing this great "mistake". I hope the minor changes will inspire those who wanted more zip, & lower sodium to try it again. You won't be disappointed! Now, if I can try with Splenda, I can lower the sugar level, but you can't always have everything! I'll update if I have any success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Too sweet and salty for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Why don't my mistakes turn out this good???? It was wonderful. Used reduced sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Oak, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used a cup of crushed ice to replace the water in the brine after it came off of the heat to properly cool the brine. Hot brine,cool chops, cooked chops. Also cut the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JVANEATON
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I tried the original recipe but with a little touch of my own without mustard, lemon juice & cocktail sauce but added garlic powder, black pepper & vinegar (in place of lemon juice)...it turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, except barbecued the chops. I found there was way too much soy sauce and this overpowered the taste. Would have been better with less and maybe a touch of rice wine vinegar. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very bland. The only flavor that stood out was ketchup. Kept it in the oven for 90 minutes and it still did not look browned like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I didn't have cocktail sauce so I used the original chili sauce. I also omitted the lemon juice. I didn't have ground dry mustard so I used spicy brown mustard! I didn't cook it nearly as long, it was ready in 40 minutes! I thought it was delicious! It reminded me of ribs! Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this for dinner last night. I actually DO NOT like cocktail sauce so I was a little concerned putting it in the recipe, but assumed the other ingredients would overpower it so I wouldn't notice it. It turned out great, and my husband loved it too! I used less ketchup than the recipe called for because I ran out...I thought it was a bit on the sweet side (didn't notice any zest), and will probably use less brown sugar next time, but it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States