Mississippi Six Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I took this to a Christmas Party with younger adults and kids of all ages. Everybody loved it and wanted the recipe! I used a small can of chopped green chillies that I drained well and put it in a loaf of light rye bread with some dark german rye chunks added to the tray. The dip was strong enough to be tasted on the bread, while being very appealing. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and heated the mixture in the microwave before putting it into the bread because I didn't have quite 90 minutes to bake it. It came out wonderfully anyway, even after a 20 minute car ride in freezing weather and then sitting on the counter for another 15 minutes. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I first had this recipe with chopped ham, not dried beef and it was called "Apache Bread". Being a seafood lover, I substituted the ham with crawfish (for Louisianans) or you could try shrimp. It was delicious (and almost like "Jazz Fest" crawfish bread. Also, add more green onions. Warm the spread in the microwave and then bake it in the breadbowl, it won't take as long and the bread won't get too overcooked. You can also use "lite" NOT fat-free cream cheese and sour cream and you can't tell the difference. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I really liked this, and so did everyone at the party that I made it for. The only thing I will change the next time I make it, is that it was a little thick for me. I might add a little carnation milk, or even a little bullion to make it a little more like a "dip" instead of a "spread". The appearance was excellent, and I loved the bread bowl. Looked very gormet. Thanks for a great new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I usually add about 1/2 cup finely chopped onion and an extra jar of chopped dried beef. It's a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I used chopped fajita meat instead of the canned meat after reading reviews. Maybe that was a mistake. Taste was OK but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I've made this recipe about 8 times since finding it a few months back but I've passed the recipe out to others about twice that amount. Everyone I have served this to loves it! Guys have gone wild for it (should I make a video about that? Titled "Guys gone wild - for the Mississippi Six?" Now there's an idea!!) Thanks kelli for this fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This recipe is very good for a winter party. I have made it twice. I subtituted ham for the beef. I prefer that. The second time I made it, was better. I mixed all of the ingredients and put them in the microwave to cook for several minutes, stirring between each minute. I then added it into the bread when it was hot. This made baking it easier and didn't take so long. The first time, it took a very long time to get the center to get hot, and the onions to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I have been making this recipe for over two years now and I have NEVER had any leftovers!!! It is alway a hit and again I am printing off the recipe for someone else. The only thing I do different is to not use the whole jar of dried beef as it would be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS DIP WAS PRETTY TASTY. I USED CRACKERS INSTEAD OF THE BREAD BOWL AND USED FAT FREE SOUR CREAM AND FAT FREE CREAM CHEESE. PLUS I LEFT OUT THE GREEN CHILIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was horrible and a major waste of ingredients. I completely rinsed the beef and it was still...horribly salty. Definitely will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Crispy Pork Cutlets

See what happens when German schnitzel technology meets Southern country cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States