Mississippi Six Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I tried to pick out a super easy recipe that I could delegate to my husband to make for our Thanksgiving guests while I attended to dinner. This was definitely it! We opted to bake it in a dish for approx. 15 minutes at 350F, and served it with warm cubes of pumpernickel bread on the side. We will (I mean he will) definitely be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Really Good! The boys devoured it.. I used it more as a base recipe though. I used diced andouille sausage instead of the dried beef. I also used fresh mariachi peppers from my garden that I had minced for the canned green chiles. I think swiss or provolone cheese would make a tasty sub for the cheddar. So many possibilities with this dip. I just microwaved the extra that wouldn't fit in the bread bowl. (still good and so much faster) The guys preferred baked in the bread though. I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I started making this a couple years ago for football parties and now family and friends demand I bring it every time there's a get-together. My husband even has me make it for supper sometimes! I usually double the dried beef. Super, super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickrell, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Adams, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is an awesome dish! I usually use the dried beef, but I have tried it with ham also and it was just as good. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concordia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This is a wonderful dip that EVERYONE loves! I have made it half a dozen times and it's been the hit of the party and I never take home leftovers. We like to increase the heat by adding habenero peppers when we know the group can take it. My favorite part of this recipe is when someone finally rips into the bread bowl. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I took this to a family picnic, and everyone loved it. I heated it in the microwave first, as others suggested, then spooned it into the bread and baked it about 30 min right before leaving the house so it would be nice and gooey for the picnic. It went over quite well. The only change I made was I used corned beef instead of dried beef. It's a very rich recipe, much thicker than I had imagined. Make sure you have a spoon to serve it with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Hubby and the boys really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I made this several years ago and then misplaced my recipe so I was so glad to find it here. I didn't add the dried beef because my original recipe didn't have it and that is the way I prefer it. This is a great and different recipe for bread dip. I made it for a get together I had and my guests were gathered around it until the entire thing was gone. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was a hit at my last party. I'm terrified of dried meat, so I substituted 3/4 c. taco-seasoned cooked ground beef for the dried beef and omitted the Worcestershire sauce. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Made this for Christmas and it was a big hit! I made just as recipe said and it turned out perfect! Cooked for 90 minutes even though I thought that may have been too long, but it turned out perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States