Mississippi Six Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Made this exactly as written, didn't find the beef or the recipe all that horribly salty, guess it's just our taste, we like salty foods. Made this as an appetizer for Easter and my in-laws raved about it, they couldn't stop eating it. Will be keeping this recipe handy for a long while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
YUM. This was so great, even better than I thought it would be. Looking at the recipe, I assumed it would need some salt, but I'm glad I tasted the dried beef first. It was salty enough to make the rest of the dip not need it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is a keeper! The name is odd and doesn't convey what guests may be eating, but it tastes great! I prepped it ahead of time and kept the "guts" in the frig until party time. Then, I added to the bowl, wrapped, and baked. Delicious! THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
All time crowd fav! I sometimes skip the bread bowl. Just bake in cute ovenproof dish and serve with tortilla chips. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This is our standard party/potluck fare - I never bring a lick home and everyone wants the recipe! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I made it for a party the other night and every single bite was gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is always a favorite at our house! We serve the dip in a Hawaiian Bread bowl and cut up leftover pices of bread to be used as dippers. Also, instead of dried beef (yuck) we use chopped ham (8 oz). And we serve with wheat thins as well! If you think dried beef doesnt sound appetizing then go for the diced ham! Trust me on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
It's actually called Mississippi Sin, I think the name is a typo.. I've been making it forever, and its a huge hit for tailgating in the Grove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I've been making a variation of this recipe for years, but never knew there was an official name! In these parts, we call it "Italian Bread Loaf Dip". Most of the ingredients are the same, with a few changes: Hollow out an Italian bread loaf, mix together 8 oz. cream cheese, 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, 16 oz. sour cream, 2.5 oz. chopped Carl Buddigs beef, minced onion (to taste), and garlic powder (to taste). Favorite dippers: Ritz Chips, Ritz crackers and tortilla chips. Maybe I should call it the Ohio 5.2 ? Excellent recipe! A favorite at every casual get-together as it is always requested. Hey Smoove Gravy, bring the bread dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoove Gravy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This goes with me to all bring-a-dish BBQs. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States