Mississippi Mud Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This dessert was part of my Mother's Day menu. Made the day before and it was perfect the day of. I'm not the biggest fan of butterscotch, so I used vanilla instead. But it will be on my Father's Day menu for my dad. And I think he will love the butterscotch. Other than that, I made the recipe exactly as written and it was so good! I only have a couple of 9x13 pans and they were in use. I grabbed a couple of the flimsy throw away foil pans at the store. They will work, but b/c of the crust, I won't do that again. This deserves a glass or metal sturdy pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Outstanding recipe! Super easy, yet elegant. My husband's new 2nd favorite dessert. Great for dinner parties when you don't have much time to prepare the dessert. I added a bag of melted chocolate chips to the cream cheese mix for a little more chocolate-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
My stepson (a very picky eater) LOVED this! He preferred it without the whipped topping on top. I made two pies out of it - one with a graham cracker crust and one with an oreo crust (as suggested by another member). Both were big hits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwood1964

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Good recipe! Super easy! I changed a few things, I made my own Oreo crust (crushed up a whole thing of Oreos, minus the middle, and mixed with 12 tbs of melted butter and baked for about 10 mins at 350) and instead of using butterscotch I used vanilla. I used 2 9in pie tins to make it in and was a perfect amount. I will make this again the same way I made it the first time, but instead of using the frozen whipped topping, I will use canned whipped cream because the frozen stuff melts and just doesn't look pretty even though it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrssabre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Everybody but me loved it... But I'm the reviewer here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this for my book club after reading The Help. Everyone loved it and complimented the book well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
YUMMO!!! My daughter said this is not her favorite pie and my BF said it tastes as good as he remebers his mom making when he was a kid! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is very good - it's like mousse on a pie crust. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
YUM! everyone loved it and it was soooooo incredibly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made this for thanksgiving dinner, and it was incredible! I left out the butterscotch, though. I also added Cadbury chocolate curls on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfwithin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States