Mississippi Mud Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
These cookies are awesome!! I am cooking vegan now so I change the milk for coconut milk and the butter for Earth Balance buttery spread and they turned out A-MA-ZING!! The second time around I used more coconut and used almonds and almond extract instead tasted like Almond Joy Bars but Vegan!! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammyhamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Just made these - Few things that I changed: Added 1/2c more walnuts, 1/2c more coconut flakes, and a tsp of cayenne pepper. Ended up like a mexican chocolate bar with oats. Very good. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki.gillespie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I love these. I used to make these all the time growing up - for every bake sale or fundraiser event. They were called Skillet Cookies because you make them in a skillet. Also, you leave the stove on Medium heat the entire time. This allows the sugar to dissolve completely and prevents you from over cooking or under cooking them. (So you don't have to worry about the 2 mins of boiling.) The butter, milk, cocoa and sugar make a candy-like coating so that when you add the oats & stuff, it hardens when it cools. We always put these in the refrigerator to harden. Using rolled oats makes them chewy - using quick oats makes them easier to eat (less chewy, which is good for people with dentures :). I followed this version of the recipe except I reduced the sugar to 1 3/4 cups and it was still too sweet (will try 1.5 cups next time). I upped the walnuts and coconut to 3/4 cup, but couldn't taste them much. My original recipe didn't include nuts or coconut - now I see why. You can't really taste them (kind of a waste of ingredients). I like mine more chocolaty so I increased the cocoa to 8 tablespoons = 1/2 cup. My original recipe called for 2 Tablespoons of peanut butter - that might have balanced the sugar a little bit so they didn't seem so sweet. Either way - these are great! I always get requests for them at family gatherings and parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I must have done something wrong because these cookies were not really cookies at all or even brownie like. I (the health nut) didn't eat them, and my sugar-addicted family didn't like them either. There was "no there there." They weren't gooey and sticky, they looked like granola and tasted like cardboard. I don't think I did anything wrong wrong -- perhaps I didn't boil the sugar-butter mix long enough. I didn't have walnuts but that shouldn't have rendered the recipe inedible. My family suggested I throw them in the freezer to firm them up, and there they sit, three days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The 2 min of boiling is key. Too long and you've got crumbly cookies, too short and they don't set up very well. I start my 2 min. when there is a good boil on the side of the pan but not quite the whole pan in a roiling boil. I stir the entire time the sugar and butter is melting. The more coconut the better. For sure my favorite No Bake Cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I didn't have any walnut so I doubled the coconut. Love these cookies! They are also very good right out of the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinckley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Angora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This is a great no bake cookie variation. I cut down the sugar by 1/4 c, doubled the amount of walnuts and coconut (after reading the reviews), and also added about 1 c of mini marshmallows (marshmallow creme is my fav part of mississippi mud). I decided to make these into bars instead of drop cookies so i lined my 8 x 8 pan with plastic wrap, spray it with non-stick, and spread it out. Put them in the freezer for an hour to hurry up the set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I added flax seeds with the oatmeal and replaced the walnuts with pecans. Great summer cookie since no oven is required. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Super duper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I was happy to find this recipe, these treats go by so many different names. I removed the nuts from it and I found that it had a LITTLE too much sugar. Next time, I'll use less. All and all I'll keep this recipe on record.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States