Mississippi Mud Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
Carol, you are a genius. It is the most amazing chocolate cake I have ever eaten. My friends and family adore it too. It is now our special occassion cake. Thanks, Colleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
Very good cake. Moist, rich, but not too rich, not too sweet, and verrrry chocolatey. I don't have a tube pan, so I made the cake in a 4 x 8 loaf pan - two of them, actually. I'd watch the baking time pretty closely. Also, this cake does not freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Excellent cake! I made it for a Valentines day treat. I didn't have dark rum, so I used light. Also I had semi-sweet chips, so I used those instead of unsweetened. It came out great! I also invented a fabulous glaze for it after looking in my cupboards: to one cup of powdered sugar add 1/2 t imitation maple extract (gives it a great caramel color), 1 t. rum, and enough cream to give it the desired consistency. It's so sinfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This cake is wonderfully moist and very good. It's great with a semi-sweet chocolate and rum glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Thank you thank you! I found this recip originally in a book of southern recipes and fell in love. Unfortunately over the course of several moves I lost the cookbook and for the life of me couldnt remember the exact amounts. I thought it lost forever until I came across this. Exactly the way I remember it except I always made it with Jim Bean, and instead of flour I dust my bundt pan with cocoa powder. I also always let it cool completely in the pan set up on a wire rack before trying to turn it out. Usually that will keep it from sticking but if not I slice it up, arrange them nicely and dust a little powder sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
OMG!!! This is one of the best cakes I have ever made and fairly easy too. I used Captain Morgan spiced rum. It is moist and chocolatey. Many kudos to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was deeelishuuuusss. I made for father's day and he loved it, wish I'd thought of the cherries though! Followed the recipe, no changes. Topped with strawberries. I was really worried about how runny it was even though I'd read another submitter had mentioned it but came out fine. This is a keeper and I plan on doing it for 4th July if we can wait that long! Thank you sooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great chocolate cake! Very moist and rich, one of my favorite chocolate cakes. I dusted the pan with cocoa powder and topped with strawberries. I'm pretty picky about chocolate cake, and this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Fantastic! Very moist and dense. My Dad tasted the rum but not the coffee. I tasted the coffee but not the rum. I used espresso and it had an intense espresso flavor when it was warm. Cake was gone in two days so I'm not sure how long it would have stayed yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States