Mississippi Mud Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I liked this recipe. It is thicker than sponge cake but not as dense or sweet as original mud cake. I followed the recipe to the letter except for increasing the amount of rum to 1/3 cup. Initially I was concerned about the runniness of the batter and thought maybe the amount of coffee mixture was way too much but it turned out quite nice. Baking time took about 15-20 minutes longer than stated and I did increase the temperature to 180 otherwise would have been in the kitchen all day! I let the baking pan rest for about 15 minutes before turning out the cake and it came out without breaking except for a small portion on the top, which I covered up with frosting anyway. Hubby loved it - he loves anything with chocolate - nice served with dollops of thick cream. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I've made this cake several times and it's always successful. Sometimes, I soak dried cherries in the rum (or whiskey) and add those in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czarna Owca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I always make my cakes from scratch, and this one is definitely a keeper. This recipe makes a wonderfully moist, rich cake that is not too sweet. I used a 1/3 c rum. Next time I think I might add a light chocolate glaze over the top for a little extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I have never in my life made a recipe using 2 sticks of butter... but made the exception b/c it was my husbands birthday. I cooked it in two cake pans for 50 minutes, and the results were incredible. So rich and sinful that we had to give some away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Excellent cake! Very rich, but not too sweet. A big hit the two times I made it. I definately needs to cool completely before you turn over the bundt pan. It's so moist it will come apart if it's not cool. We put the pieces back, topped the whole thing off with a chocolate ganache and went to the party! Didn't come home with any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Looked nice (and smelt nice, but despite cooking for one and a half hours, remaining totally runny! Especially upsetting as I was making it for my partner's birthday cake and didn't have time to get him another cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
Very good cake. Moist, rich, but not too rich, not too sweet, and verrrry chocolatey. I don't have a tube pan, so I made the cake in a 4 x 8 loaf pan - two of them, actually. I'd watch the baking time pretty closely. Also, this cake does not freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
Carol, you are a genius. It is the most amazing chocolate cake I have ever eaten. My friends and family adore it too. It is now our special occassion cake. Thanks, Colleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States