Mississippi Mud Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe. Excellent flavor but very sweet----just the way I like it! I tried it different ways. It works best by adding the marshmallows and letting them melt on the top for just a few minutes before the the brownie is done. When cooled then add the icing. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
These were not good. They didn't come out right, and they really didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is the best brownies I have ever tasted. In one month I have made it 2 times already. It is very rich and if you like your brownies more like fudge then this is definately a recipe you will like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was very good. I actually preferred it a little warm. It tasted a lot like Texas sheet cake to me. I halved the frosting recipe and found that to be just right for our tastes, and we like sweet things. I had no idea that marshmellows would melt into the batter like that and be so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
These are so yummy! I don't want to gain 10 lbs. so I cut the recipe in half. I only used 2/3 cup sugar in the brownie part and a little less than 1.5 cups in the frosting. They are still super sweet! Very good though. I substitued 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat pastry flour. I also put the marshmallows over the top of the baked brownies and let them melt down in the oven a little, instead of putting them inside the brownies. I spread the frosting over the marshmallow layer. I only needed a TBS. of milk for the frosting. They are so delicious, my kids and I couldn't wait to dig in! For anyone concerned about the nutritional info on the recipe page, keep this in mind: the recipe says, for some reason, that it serves 6, down near the bottom of the page where it says "Customize this recipe". On the top of the recipe, it says it serves 20, so I don't know what's going on there. Anyways, if you cut a 9x13 pan into only 6 servings, yes it would be really bad, but I'm guessing most people won't do that. So enjoy, in moderation! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
These turned out very good. It was my fault that I undercooked them which made them a little messy when serving. But the next day the were PERFECT! Great flavor! I made these for my dad and served them with French Vanilla ice cream and he loved them. Next time I will cook them a little longer, and allow them to cool a little longer before serving. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerriheffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I'm not allowed to make any other desserts... This one is in very high demand. I've made it 4-5 times already and it actually turns out a little different each time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
These are dangerously delicious! I made the brownie with 1 & 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 2 cups and made 1/2 the frosting and they were still perfect for flavor. They are a little bit messy to serve but the taste is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Wow!! Very rich, and very good! My family has had this recipe for years. The only difference is that we cover the brownies with the marshmallows after they've baked (as one reviewer suggested), so that they have their own layer. Very pretty when cut and served! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These are the best brownies I have ever had!! I make them at many events. They are sweet and chewy and wonderful. I even eat them when I make them and I do atkins!!! Absolutely wonderful and a big hit everywhere I go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States