Mississippi Mud Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Super sweet and decadent. you don't need much to get a ton of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Added the marshmellows on top per another's suggestion. Boyfriend and I were not crazy about these the first day (more of a cake than a brownie to me), but both agreed it was better the next day. It was a hit when I served it day-old. And the frosting is delicious if you are looking for a good, fudgey frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Very good but very gooey. I don't really like rocky road ice cream because of the marshmallows and felt the same way about these brownies. Will definately make again but without the marshmallows and without pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbuckley16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Theese are really sweet, but they are good. i tried it to duplicate a brownie that i had in a resturant and it was really close. i really suggest halfing this recipe because it it too much unless you have a lot of people to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I have this exact recipe that I got from the lady I used to babysit for when I was 13 (I'm 40 now...yikes). It's only different in the way that the marshmallows are not added to the batter. I suppose it has morphed like tons of other recipes...but adding the marshmallows to the batter makes it a lot more gooey (although it is called "mud" pie). For this recipe, in my opinion, it works better if you put the marshmallows on top after it's baked and cook it for 2 more minutes until the marshmallows melt. Then let it cool and frost with chocolate frosting and sprinkle with nuts when the frosting is soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Wow, was I disappointed in these. I'm really sorry to do this, because I have never left a bad review for a recipe, but these did not work. I am a regular and experienced baker, and I followed the recipe as written. What resulted was a gooey, sweet mess. I gave it two stars because the kids ate them, but they were impossible to cut, did not look very good, and dit not have a great chocolate flavor. All you taste is sweet melted marshmallow, and you never get chocolate. If you like extremely sweet things, plan on scooping these out with a spoon, because they will not cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Wow, great recipe! Very rich, so be sure to cut into teeny tiny squares! A hit with my friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
These are delicious, but VERY rich! Cut into small squares for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Excellent recipe. Eat it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
If you need a chocolate fix, this is it! There is more sugar than needed in this recipe. I cut it down to 1-1/2 cups for the brownie (the flour/sugar ratio should be the same). Instead of mixing the marshmallows into the batter I just scattered about 1 cup of them on top and then baked as directed. Don't add 4 cups of confectioners' sugar to the frosting! I used a generous 2 cups and it was plenty sweet. These were a huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States