Mississippi Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I'm the only person in my family that likes egg custard pie. I'm also allergic to wheat and gluten. I swapped the flour for gluten free flour and used gluten free vanilla and it was Great! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This pie is excellent. The only change I made is that I added some cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg, as I like a more spicy custard. I used a 10" pie plate and cooked the pie in a water bath for exactly 45 minutes. The pie rose nicely, filling the pan, and it cooked perfectly, not runny at all but nice and firm. Best of all, it is absolutely delicious, light and tasty. Will definitely use the recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
GREAT recipe I add nutmeg so that it is more like my grandmoters but love how it is light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Kinman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
a fool proof Egg Custard Pie! I am a novice in the kitchen but this pie was a hit in my family. For some who thinks it's too sweet .... just lessen the sugar! I used only 1 1/4 c and it turned out great. TWO TWISTS i made with the recipe..1) used halfevap milk and half reg milk ( i had some left over that's why) 2) added fresh corn kernels ( yup! FRESH) ...and it still turned out WODERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aurearhea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made this pie I felt it was to sweet my pie took 2 hours to make. It was more custard then pie. Not happy with it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
this is the best egg custard ever, much better than the shops ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Giving this 3 stars, there is some difficulty setting the 9" pie pan in another baking dish with water. I did not have one that was wider than 9" so there were some issues in technicality with this recipe for me. Some water did seep into the pie pan trying to balance it in. And the lowest layer came out harder than the rest. However the top layer did taste fairly good. I would definitely have to go buy a new baking dish for the water bath to even begin to think about trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I put this in a small rectangular casserole dish because I didn't have a water bath pan that would fit a 9" pie plate. Otherwise, the only change I made was to add a little cinnamon and nutmeg. I don't know what I did wrong; but it did not set up and was almost entirely liquid under the hardened top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEWBIEDOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I made this pie last night, it was absolutely delicious. This pie was easy to make, I followed the recipe very closely, except I added a little bit of melted butter to the mixture and cooked each pie for about 55-60 mins each at 350. I also added a foil ring to the crust so it didn't get too brown. I highly recommend this recipe to other egg pie lovers, it's so very tasty and doesn't have that "too much egg" taste like others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States