Miss Betty's Super Quick Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe is super quick to make - only 3 ingredients. I baked them in my mini muffin pan and got 12 rolls. Although, they have a biscuit consistency rather than a roll as the recipe title calls them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have used this recipe for years.....it has been very popular with family and friends and I have shared this recipe many, many times. The name is deceptive as they have the consistency of biscuits. They are especially yummy with soups & stews. I first found this recipe in a "Clay County Homemakers Extension Club" cookbook. They call them Mayonnaise Rolls. They also make a great "starter" to add additional things to like different cheeses, minced garlic, diced ham or bacon. They are also good for easy "biscuits" for breakfast....baking while you prepare the other items.... Clean up is easy....one bowl and 1 pan! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
It was quick and easy so I would give it a high rating for that, but it was too hard on the outside to classify as a roll so I would give it a low rating as a roll. Therefore, to combine these 2 scores it gets a 3. I like a roll to be soft and easy to pull apart. This was not like that. It is a biscuit not a roll, and not a very good biscuit. If you have a pinch on time, it might be alright but personally I don`t plan on making it again because my family did not care for it. I make a lot of bread so my family knows good bread from bad and this just did not pass the taste test for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
So quick and easy!!! I love this recipe. They come out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I have been making these for years when I find myself short on time and groceries. If you approach this recipe as a basic biscuit rather than a dinner roll, I think you will not be surprised by the result. I always use a fine whole wheat flour with baking powder (1 t) and salt (1/2 t). I've tried many add-ins, but typically go with cracked pepper and garlic. I also pat them lightly into balls and bake them on a pizza stone at about 400 for 15 minutes. I simply think they look better this way. Thank you, Miss Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My husband loves homemade bread of any sort, I cannot make anything that requires yeast! For some reason it NEVER works! I was so excited to try this recipe!! I didn't have any self rising flour so I used SPUDUGAN's advice of the baking powder & salt! My husband LOVED them!!! I am making more as I type!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
These didn't rise and even after 30 min in my oven they were dense little rocks, mad this was a waste of ingredients and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Banfill
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Great recipe and so quick and simple. Took another's advice and used ranch instead of mayo, also added 1 tsp garlic powder. They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I forced myself to make these with mayo, as I am repelled by the idea of cooking with mayo- but they were good. Quick and easy and versatile. These came in handy when dinner was ready and I realized I had no bread to serve. By the time we sat at the table and passed the dishes around the oven was beeping with fresh bread rolls. :) I'm never sure what to call them, though. They are kinda biscuit like. I scoop them with an ice cream scoop into mounds on a baking sheet. Good with shredded cheese. EXCELLENT SUBSTITUTE FOR BISQUICK if you are like me and don't buy boxed food. ( I also made my own SRFlour) * if you don't want to use mayo, you can sub an egg and get a tender, dumpling-style roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I absolutely adore these rolls!! So far, we use it with all our soups and stews... and my hubby makes them just because.. lol..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Shillingford Trew

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 21-30 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States