Miss Betty's Super Quick Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
For a quick roll, very good. Love the light and fluffyness of it. Needs a bit more flavor but that's easy to fix by tossing in a few spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I gave some quirks to it, because we didn't have mayonnaise. One I made with tomato sauce and Italian seasoning, and then one with ranch dressing. I made two others that didn't turn out so well, because I just used some extra milk. I had homemade self rising flour, so if I were to make the ranch one again, I would omit the salt. They were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I needed a quick recipe for rolls to have with dinner and these were a hit. Kind of "biscuitey" but served its purpose and I did not have to roll them out. Quick, simple and good!! Will definitely make again. To those of you who could not get them to brown, I baked mine at 450 degrees for 8-10 minutes. I also did not have "self rising flour" on hand but made my own. 1 cup of flour, 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt, plus for extra flavor 2 or 3 tablespoons of sugar. EASY CHEESY!!! = D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I thought these were just great. I got my 8year old daughter to mix them up. They were so easy especially compared to the hassle of yeast rolls! I didnt think they lacked flavor and the texture was perfect -lovely and soft without being cake like. I think it would be easy to play around with flavor by adding herbs and cheese etc another time but i certainly didnt think they tasted bad. I think this is a useful recipe that I will use again and again when i want rolls with soup etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
While these were very quick, they weren't very good. They didn't ever brown, so I cooked them a few minutes longer thinking maybe it was just my oven, which essentially turned them into rocks. Rocks that tasted like biscuits, not dinner rolls. They would work in a pinch if you really needed a bread, but remember, they taste like biscuits, not dinner rolls- and I used self rising flour. I tripled the batch, which was a good thing, because I barely got 12 'muffins' out of it (I have 6 to feed). I had found a dinner roll recipe a few years ago that had mayo in it and it was great, I tried to find it again- this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooksfor6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I have struggled with finding a quick and easy dinner roll recipe for so long. But no more! These are super easy and delicious and even I couldn't mess them up. :) I added sharp cheddar cheese and garlic powder and they tasted a lot like a famous seafood place's famous cheddar biscuits. Thank you so much for sharing this! Our whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAFTYLILDEVIL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very tasty! I was nervous trying this, but so glad I did. I am allergic to yeast, so I had to learn to make do without regular bread. This is a fabulous alternative. Yes, a bit more like a biscuit, but you could still spice these up and serve them as a dinner roll without any problems. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
They were quick to throw together, which is what I was looking for. I did have to add seasonings in and on top in order to improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I don't see what the problem is. This is a quick means to make bread. Yes, it is nothing more than a biscuit in muffin form. What else would expect without a yeast dough? Next time I will add some herbs or cheese to zip it up a bit, but it is what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Donaldsonville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I was a little apprehensive to try these with the mixed reviews. Followed the recipe without any tweaking, and was pleased with the result. Yes they are closer to a biscuit than a dinner roll, but with no yeast that's what you would expect. For a quick and easy bread serving, this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States