Miss Bettie's Zesty Grilled Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Nothing signals the start of summer like grilled corn on the cob! I soaked my corn first in cold water with a bit of sugar and salt for about an hour inside the husks (peeling back the husk a bit and removing a bit of the silk then putting the husk back). I put the corn in husks on the grill for 30 minutes rotating it around the coals vs. using foil. The corn cooks by steaming inside the husks. I softened the butter and added the rest of the ingredients using dijon for the prepared mustard. These definitely are tangy and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This wasn't as "zesty" as it was cooked on the corn, BUT if you put it on the corn after grilling, it has the zing. I dipped my ham in the left over butter sauce and it was delicious! I will make this mixture with ham from now on!! Thanks Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
Very good. My daugher made it and everyone liked it. I can't wait to try it on corn that is sweeter than what we had tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I didn't use this with corn on the cob, instead making it a sauce to stir into frozen corn. Maybe grilling it would have imparted better flavor...it just tasted like corn and mustard. Don't think I'll retry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I have been wanting to make this for some time and was not disappointed. I do think the name should be changed because instead of zestiness, you just get a nice blend of flavors. It is not overwhelming and that is a good thing. Decreased the mustard just a tad because I do not like a lot of yellow mustard in a recipe but everything else was the same. Cooked beautifully on the grill; make sure that you don't have any tears or holes in the foil -- all the sauce will run out and you will end up with dry, tough corn. After cooking, I cut the kernels off the cob. They got into the Mexican rice side dish and it was delicious that way as well. This was a great recipe and will make it many, many more times. Paired this with the adobo sirloin recipe from this site, the rice and warm flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This was good but I guess I had higher expectations. I think the mustard overpowered the side dish...and I would have rather tasted the corn. Might try again to tinker with....but still good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Wonderful, Wonderful Wonderful. I have used this recipe three times and each time it gets better. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
We grilled this recipe almost a year ago, and my boyfriend and I still talk about it! Very good, I was very very skeptical of the horse radish, as I HATE anything that is too powerful and over the top, but it was delicious- it was the hit of the BBQ. I would double what the recipe makes for the amount of corn it suggests, because we almost wished for more flavor. Will do again for special BBQs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I have made this several times, to be honest I expected more zip out of it. It is good I guess i expected the flavors to be more. SO those of you that have shyed away because of the ingredients you shoud try this, thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Good but not great. Needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States